This report is an overview of DFPS programs, services, and accomplishments covering September 1, 2014 through August 31, 2015.  View the interactive version online or download a printable PDF.

Agency Overview

The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) provides protective services, regulates childcare, and works to prevent abuse and neglect. We provide these important functions through five major programs:

  • Statewide Intake
  • Adult Protective Services
  • Child Care Licensing
  • Child Protective Services
  • Prevention and Early Intervention

DFPS is a part of the Texas Health and Human Services System (HHS) and the HHS executive commissioner appoints the commissioner of DFPS.

The DFPS commissioner oversees 12,706 employees in 282 local offices located in 11 regions and a state headquarters in Austin.  DFPS has a nine-member council that gathers public comment and makes recommendations on the department’s rules and policies.

You can learn more about the agency at