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For Chapter 745

Chapter 745
Subchapter E, Fees

§745.505. What fees must | pay to list my family home and maintain the listing?
(a) The following chart contains the fees required for listed family homes, when the fees

are due and the consequences for fallure to pay the fees on t|me [—I&Jete—thact—tewC

Type and Amount
of Fee

When the Fee is Due

Consequences for Failure
to Pay Fee on Time

(1)
Application/request
processing fee: $20

Before we accept
your
application/request for
a listing

We will return your
application/request as
incomplete.

$20

(2) Annual listing fee:

On the anniversary
date of your listing

If you do not pay your fee
when it is due, your listing

is automatically
suspended until you pay
your fee. If you do not
pay your fee within six
months of when your
suspension begins, your
license is automatically
revoked.

We may suspend or
revoke your listing.

(3) Background
Check fee: $2 per
person

At the time you
request a
background check
or on a monthly or
quarterly basis

(b) The fees listed in subsection (a) of this section are waived for a person with a
listing who only provides child care to a related child in the child's own home as
approved by the Texas Workforce Commission's Listed Family Home Fee Waiver

Authorlzatlon form. [A45ted4a#»ly—hemem%+h+eh—a—relatwe—eh+td—eare—p¥ewdeeeares4er
]

Chapter 745
Subchapter F, Background Checks
Division 2, Requesting Background Checks

§745.615. On whom must | request background checks?
(a) (No change.)
(b) In addition to any other background check required by this section, you must request
fingerprint-based criminal history checks on the following:
(1) If you are a permit holder, or applicant for a permit, for a child-placing agency,
general residential operation, independent foster home, child-care center, before or after-
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school program, [ef] school-age program, licensed child-care home, registered child-
care home, or listed family home providing care to unrelated children, then you must
request a fingerprint-based criminal history check for each person who is required to have a
name-based background check under subsection (a)(1)-(6) of this section; and

(2) (No change.)

(c) - (d) (No change.)

NEW 8745.616. Transitional rule for requesting fingerprint-based criminal history
checks for listed family homes, registered child-care homes, and licensed child-care
homes as required by the 84th Texas Legislature.

(a) The 84th Texas Legislature enacted changes to Human Resources Code (HRC)
842.056, imposing new fingerprint-based criminal history check (fingerprint-based
check) requirements on certain persons affiliated with listed family homes that
provide care to unrelated children, registered child-care homes, and licensed child-
care homes who had not previously been required to undergo these checks. See S.
B. 1496, 84th Regular Legislative Session. The purpose of this transitional rule is to
provide guidance on when a fingerprint-based check should be requested and when
Licensing will begin to cite a home for a violation of minimum standards for failing to
request arequired fingerprint-based check. This rule applies only to listed family
homes, registered child-care homes, or licensed child-care homes, and only with
respect to persons who were not previously required to undergo a fingerprint-based
check under HRC 842.056, as that statute existed before the changes from S. B. 1496
became effective on September 1, 2016.

(b) Beginning September 1, 2016, before we issue you a permit to operate a listed
family home, registered child-care home, or licensed child-care home you must:

(1) Request fingerprint-based checks for all persons listed in 8745.615(a)(1) -
(6) of this title (relating to On whom must | request background checks?); and

(2) Request these fingerprint-based checks when you request the initial
background checks that you must request according to §745.625(a) of this title
(relating to When must | submit a request for an initial or renewal background
check?).

(c) For listed family homes, registered child-care homes, or licensed child-care
homes that have been issued a permit to operate a home before September 1, 2016,
you must request fingerprint-based checks for all persons listed in §745.615(a)(1) -
(6) who do not already have a valid fingerprint-based check on file, in accordance
with the timeframes listed below:

Persons Requiring a Fingerprint- When the Request for a Fingerprint-
Based Check: Based Check is Due:

(1) Persons whose initial or last At the time the person’'s name-based
name-based background check background check is due for renewal.

renewal was run (or was due to be
run) between September 1, 2014
and August 31, 2015

(2) Persons whose initial or last If your last name begins with:
name-based background check (A) A through F, December 1, 2016;
renewal was run (or was due to be (B) G through L, March 1, 2017,
run) between September 1, 2015 (C) M through R, June 1, 2017; and

and August 31, 2016 (D) S through Z, August 1, 2017.
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Persons Requiring a Fingerprint-
Based Check:

When the Request for a Fingerprint-
Based Check is Due:

(3) Any person who will be turning
14 years of age and:
e Is counted in the
child/caregiver ratio;
e Has unsupervised access to
children in care; or
e Resides at the home

Within 90 days before or after the child's
14" birthday.

(4) Anyone for whom:
e You have requested a risk
evaluation; and
e Arisk evaluation is pending

Before the risk evaluation decision may
be issued.

(d) For persons described in subsection (b) of this section, Licensing will begin
citing new homes for violation of minimum standards for any deficiencies relating to

fingerprint-based checks after September 1, 2016.

(e) For persons described in subsection (c) of this section, Licensing will provide
technical assistance to listed family homes, registered child-care homes, or licensed

child-care homes until September 1, 2017, and will begin citing operations for

violation of minimum standards for any deficiencies relating to fingerprint-based

checks after September 1, 2017.

(f) This rule expires on December 31, 2017.




	CCDBG Final Bold/Strikethrough Changes
	For Chapter 745
	Chapter 745
	Subchapter E, Fees
	§745.505. What fees must I pay to list my family home and maintain the listing?
	Chapter 745
	Subchapter F, Background Checks
	Division 2, Requesting Background Checks
	§745.615. On whom must I request background checks?
	NEW §745.616. Transitional rule for requesting fingerprint-based criminal history checks for listed family homes, registered child-care homes, and licensed child-care homes as required by the 84th Texas Legislature.


