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This is a publication of the Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 42 and an excerpt from the Texas Family Code, Chapter 261. These are the laws that 
require:  

 The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) to investigate allegations of child abuse, neglect, and exploitation in child-care 
facilities (both day care and residential); and 

 The Child-Care Licensing Division (CCL) of the Health and Human Services Commission to regulate child-care and child-placing activities in Texas, 
to investigate allegations of minimum standard violations in child-care facilities, and to create and enforce minimum standards. 

 
The Texas Legislature made changes to these laws during the 2017 85th Regular Texas Legislative session. The following are highlights of these changes: 
 
Affecting all types of operations regulated by Child Care Licensing, the 85th Legislature: 
 

 Amended 42.002(23) and 42.044(c-1) to delete references to Family Code 261.401. 

 Amended 42.056(a), (a-1), (a-2), (a-5), (b), (b-1), (g), and created 42.056(a-3), (b-2) to be in compliance with the background check requirements 
mandated by federal legislation, the Child Care Development Block Grant (CCDBG) of 2014. These include: 
o Replacing the requirement for providers to submit a new background check every 24 months for individuals who are required to submit a 

fingerprint check to every five years. The requirement to submit a check every 24 months is maintained for those who are not required to submit 
fingerprints;  

o Adding a requirement for background checks on certain contractors; 
o Waiving the requirement to submit new fingerprints if the individual has an active subscription with the FBI’s national rap back service; 
o Granting the department authority to conduct background checks of any registry, repository, or database required by federal law. This allows the 

department to conduct background checks using out-of-state criminal history databases, out-of-state child abuse and neglect registries, and out-
of-state sex offender registries for individuals who have lived out of state in the previous five years; and  

o Prohibiting a person with an incomplete background check to have direct access to a child in care. A person that completes a fingerprint-based 
criminal history check and a central registry check may have direct access to children in care as long as it is not unsupervised access.  

 Amended Texas Family Code (TFC), Section 261.001 to reflect that all child abuse, neglect, and exploitation investigations in child care operations 
(both day care and residential care) be conducted by DFPS using the TFC definitions found in Section 261.001. The changes to those definitions 
make the abuse and neglect definitions for child protective services more consistent with the previous CCL definitions for abuse, neglect, and 
exploitation.  
 

Affecting only residential (24 hour) child-care operations and/or child-placing agencies, the 85th Legislature; 
 

 Amended Section 42.002 to update certain definitions used throughout Chapter 42. These include the creation of the following new types of 
operations: “continuum-of-care residential operation”, “cottage home operation”, “cottage family home”, and “specialized child-care home”; and the 
deletion of “independent foster family homes”, “independent foster group homes”, and “agency foster group homes”. The new operation types are 
dependent upon the appropriation of funds for this purpose and CCL establishing new minimum standards for each new operation type. CCL cannot 
license an independent foster family home or independent foster group home after September 1, 2017. CPAs cannot verify an agency foster group 
home after September 1, 2017. However, current independent foster family homes, independent foster group homes, and agency foster group 
homes can continue to operate under the previous law and current minimum standards until CCL establishes rules for these homes to be converted 
to a different license or verification.  Note: References to the new operation types and the deleted operation types were also updated at: 
42.041(b)(2), 42.042, 42.0421(e), 42.044(e), 42.0448, 42.0449, 42.045(d), 42.0451, 42.0452, 42.046, 42.0531, 42.0561, and 42.063(d). 

 Created Section 42.0031 to clarify that any reference in this chapter to a type of residential child care operation that is part of a “continuum-of-care 
operation” (COCO) shall be construed as a reference to that portion of the COCO, and CCL can take any regulatory action against the COCO that 
CCL could take against the residential child care operation.  

 Amended 42.041(b)(24) to add two new exemptions from CCL regulation. First is an exemption for respite care providers that contract with a local 
mental health authority; Second is an exemption for parents that enter into an agreement with an unrelated caregiver to authorize the caregiver to 
provide temporary care to the parent’s child. 

 Created 42.042(s) to mandate that a COCO must comply with any requirements related to a residential child care operation that is part of the COCO 
and allows the executive commissioner to promulgate rules to assist these operations with this task. 

 Created Section 42.0432 to enforce timely health screening requirements and monetary penalties for failure to comply by mandating these 
requirements for child-placing agencies (CPA) and general residential operations (GRO) that contract with DFPS to provide services to children in 
the conservatorship of DFPS. 

 Amended 42.0461, which deals with public notice and hearings that are a part of the application process for certain residential facilities or that must 
occur when there are expansions of capacity in any of these facilities, as follows: 
o Amended the title of the Section to delete the reference to "in certain counties"; 
o Removed language applying the hearings requirement to independent foster homes; 
o Added language to clarify that the notice and hearing requirements also apply to cottage home operations and COCOs that are located in a 

county with a population of less than 300,000; and  
o Created new requirements to subsections (d) and (e) regarding the information from the public hearings that Licensing would have to process 

before issuing a license or certificate, which now must be in writing and provided to Licensing's representative at the public hearing. 

 Created section 42.0463 Expansion of Capacity, to allow CCL:  
o By rule to issue capacity exceptions for not more than eight children instead of six children to an agency foster home, cottage family home, or 

specialized child-care home;  
o To develop criteria to determine when it is appropriate to exclude children related to the caretaker from a residential child-care operation’s total 

capacity; and 
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o To explicitly allow CCL to include children related to the caretaker when deciding whether a residential child-care operation is complying with 
standards related to total capacity or child/caregiver ratios. 

 Amended 42.048(e), which deals with the fact that licenses are not transferable and provides that a change in ownership or location will result in an 
automatic revocation. The amendment addresses the nature of COCOs, which involves different residential child-care operations that operate under 
the same license. Basically, this change would restrict such an operation from changing location unless DFPS approves of the new location after the 
COCO meets all requirements related to the new location. 

 Amended 42.053, which deals with agency foster homes and agency foster group homes and their relationship to the verifying CPA, by dropping 
references to “agency foster group homes”, and : 
o Adding new subsection (e) to provide for a provisional verification process, which would be according to criteria in rules to be adopted by the 

executive commissioner; and 
o Adding new subsection (f) to clarify that a CPA under contract with Child Protective Services to provide services as an "integrated care 

coordinator" may place children in a kinship placement without the kinship caregivers being considered as part of the CPA for purposes of CCL.  

 Amended 42.0535, which requires historical background information on previously verified foster homes, to remove references to foster group 
homes, while maintaining the authority to require historical background information on foster family home applicants that were previously verified as 
a foster group home. 

 Amended 42.054, regarding fees, to add COCOs to subsections (a) and (b), which deal with nonrefundable application fees, and to subsection (d), 
which deals with annual license fees. Additionally, it deleted references to independent foster homes from subsection (g). 

 Created Section 42.066 to require a GRO that provides mental health treatment or services to a child under DFPS managing conservatorship to 
submit a timely report to a court, if information is requested by the court. 

 
[Note:    Section 42.0537, Caregiver Training Requirement for foster and adoptive homes with CPAs that contract with DFPS, was added in the 84th Legislative 
Session but accidentally left out of the 2015 publication. It has now been added to this publication.] 
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CHAPTER 42. REGULATION OF CERTAIN FACILITIES, HOMES, AND AGENCIES THAT PROVIDE CHILD-CARE SERVICES 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
§42.001.  Purpose. 
§42.002.  Definitions. 
§42.003.  Reference to Child-Care Institution. 
§42.0031.  Reference to part of Continuum-of-Care Operation. 
§42.004.  Confidentiality of Investigation Information. 

SUBCHAPTER B. ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS 
§42.021.  Division Designated. 
§42.0211.  Safety Specialists, Risk Analysts, and Performance 
Management. 
§42.023.  Annual Report. 
§42.024.  Administrative Procedure. 
§42.025.  Searchable Database. 

SUBCHAPTER C. REGULATION OF CERTAIN FACILITIES, HOMES, 
AND AGENCIES 
§42.041.  Required License. 
§42.042.  Rules and Standards. 
§42.0421.  Minimum Training Standards. 
§42.0422.  Restraint and Seclusion. 
§42.0423.  Children’s Product Safety for Certain Nonresidential Child-Care 
Facilities. 
§42.0424.  Child Safety Alarms in Vehicles. 
§42.0425.  Assessment Services. 
§42.0426.  Training of Personnel. 
§42.04261.  Other Training of Personnel: Child-Placing Agencies and Day-
Care Centers. 
§42.0427.  Parental Visitation. 
§42.0428.  Policies Addressing Sexual Abuse and Other Maltreatment of 
Children. 
§42.043.  Rules for Immunizations. 
§42.04305. Vaccine-Preventable Disease Policy Required. 
§42.0431.  Enforcement of Screening Requirements Relating to Vision, 
Hearing, and Other Special Senses and Communication Disorders. 
§42.0432.  Health Screening Requirements for Child Placed with Child-
Placing Agency. 
§42.044.  Inspections. 
§42.0441.  Inspection Results for Certain Nonresidential Child-Care 
Facilities. 
§42.04411.  Inspection Results and Exit Conference for Residential Child-
Care Facilities. 
§42.04412.  Interference With Inspection; Court Order. 
§42.0442.  Coordination of inspections;  Elimination of Duplicative 
Inspections. 
§42.04425.  Inspection Information Database. 
§42.0443.  Coordination of Fire Safety and Sanitation Inspections. 
§42.04431.  Enforcement of State Law by County or Municipality. 
§42.0445.  Required Background Search of Central Registry of Reported 
Cases of Child Abuse or Neglect. 
§42.0446.  Removal of Certain Investigation Information From Internet 
Website. 
§42.0447.  False Report;  Criminal Penalty. 
§42.0448.  Notification of Family Violence Calls. 
§42.0449.  Required Actions After Notice of Family Violence Call. 
§42.045.  Records. 
§42.0451.  Database of Agency Foster Homes; Information Provided to 
Department of Public Safety. 
§42.0452.  Foster Parent Rights and Responsibilities Statement. 

§42.046.   Application for License, Listing, or Registration. 
§42.0461.  Public Notice and Hearing:  Residential Child Care. 
§42.0462.  Waiver of Notice and Hearing Requirements. 
§42.0463.  Expansion of Capacity. 
§42.047.  Consultations. 
§42.048.  Licensing. 
§42.049.  Liability Insurance Required. 
§42.050.  License Renewal. 
§42.051.  Initial License. 
§42.052.  Certification, Listing, and Registration. 
§42.0521.  Deposit of Fees. 
§42.0522.  Public Advertising of Family Homes. 
§42.0523.  Listing of Relative Child-Care Providers. 
§42.053.  Agency Foster Homes. 
§42.0531.  Secure Agency Foster Homes.  
§42.0535.  Required Information for Verification. 
§42.0536.  Transfer of Agency Foster Home. 
§42.0537.  Caregiver Training Requirement. 
§42.054.  Fees. 
§42.055.  Sign Posting. 
§42.0551.  Posting of Employee List. 
§42.056.  Required Background and Criminal History Checks; Criminal 
Penalties. 
§42.0561.  Information Relating to Family Violence Reports. 
§42.057.  Drug Testing. 
§42.058.  Competitive Bidding or Advertising Rules. 
§42.059.  Required Affidavit for Applicants for Employment With Facility or 
Registered Family Home. 
§42.060.  Carbon Monoxide Detectors. 
§42.062.  Certain Employment and Service Prohibited. 
§42.063.  Reporting of Incidents and Violations. 
§42.064.  Information Regarding Gang-Free Zones. 
§42.065.  Administering Medication. 
§42.066.  Required Submission of Information Requested by Court. 

SUBCHAPTER D. REMEDIES 
§42.0704.  Enforcement Policy. 
§42.0705.  Range of Penalties. 
§42.071.  Suspension, Evaluation, or Probation of License or Registration. 
§42.0715.  Costs Charged to Facility or Family Home. 
§42.072.  License, Listing, or Registration Denial, Suspension, or 
Revocation. 
§42.073.  Emergency Suspension and Closure of a Facility or Family Home. 
§42.074.  Injunctive Relief. 
§42.075.  Civil Penalty. 
§42.076.  Criminal Penalties. 
§42.0761.  Criminal Penalty for Operating Day-Care Center Without 
Qualified Director. 
§42.077.  Notice of Action Against Facility or Family Home. 
§42.078.  Administrative Penalty. 
§42.079.  Cease and Desist Order. 

SUBCHAPTER F.  REGULATION OF EMPLOYER-BASED DAY-CARE 
FACILITIES 
§42.151.  Definitions. 
§42.152.  Permit Required. 
§42.153.  Application; Initial Inspection and Background and Criminal 
History Checks. 
§42.154.  Conversion of License. 
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§42.155.  Parent or Guardian Within Immediate Vicinity. 
§42.156.  Caregiver-To-Child Ratio. 
§42.157.  Minimum Standards. 
§42.158.  Caregiver Qualifications. 
§42.159.  Background and Criminal History Checks Required. 
§42.160.  Applicability of Other Law. 
§42.161.  Reporting of Incidents and Violations. 
§42.162.  Authority to Conduct Limited Inspections. 
§42.163.  Suspension, Denial, or Revocation. 

SUBCHAPTER G. REGULATION OF TEMPORARY SHELTER DAY-
CARE FACILITIES 
§42.201.  Definitions. 
§42.202.  Permit Required. 
§42.203.  Application; Initial Inspection and Background and Criminal 
History Checks. 
§42.204.  Conversion of License. 
§42.205.  Caregiver Qualifications and Training; Child-To-Caregiver Ratios. 
§42.206.  Background and Criminal History Checks Required. 
§42.207.  Applicability of Other Law. 
§42.208.  Reporting of Incidents and Violations. 
§42.209.  Authority to Conduct Limited Inspections. 
§42.210.  Suspension, Denial, or Revocation. 

TEXAS FAMILY CODE, Excerpts 
§261.101. DEFINITIONS. (Definitions of “Abuse” and “Neglect”) 
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SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

§42.001.  Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to protect the health, safety, and well-being 
of the children of the state who reside in child-care facilities by 
establishing statewide minimum standards for their safety and protection 
and by regulating the facilities through a licensing program.  It is the policy 
of the state to ensure the protection of all children under care in child-care 
facilities and to encourage and assist in the improvement of child-care 
programs.  It is also the intent of the legislature that freedom of religion of 
all citizens is inviolate.  With respect to a school or child-care facility 
sponsored by a religious organization, nothing in this chapter gives a 
governmental agency authority to regulate, control, supervise, or in any 
way be involved in the: 

(1)  form, manner, or content of religious instruction, ministry, 
teaching, or the curriculum offered by the school or facility; 

(2)  ability of the school or facility to select and supervise qualified 
personnel, and otherwise control the terms of employment, including the 
right to employ individuals who share the religious views of the school or 
facility; 

(3)  internal self-governance and autonomy of the school or facility; 
or 

(4)  religious environment of the school or facility, such as symbols, 
art, icons, and scripture. 

§42.002.  Definitions. 

In this chapter: 
(1)  ”Child” means a person under 18 years of age. 
(2)  ”Division” means the division designated by the department to 

carry out the provisions of this chapter. 
(3)  ”Child-care facility” means a facility licensed, certified, or 

registered by the department to provide assessment, care, training, 
education, custody, treatment, or supervision for a child who is not related 
by blood, marriage, or adoption to the owner or operator of the facility, for 
all or part of the 24-hour day, whether or not the facility is operated for 
profit or charges for the services it offers. 

(4)  ”General residential operation” means a child-care facility that 
provides care for seven or more children for 24 hours a day, including 
facilities known as residential treatment centers and emergency shelters. 

(5) "Continuum-of-care residential operation" means a group of 
residential child-care facilities that operate under the same license or 
certification to provide a continuum of services to children.  

(6)”Cottage home operation” means cottage family homes that:  
(A)  are identified on the operation's license; 
(B)  share a child-care administrator who is responsible for oversight 

for all homes within the operation; and 
(C)  are all in or near the same location as defined by department 

rule. 
(7)  ”Day-care center” means a child-care facility that provides care 

at a location other than the residence of the director, owner, or operator of 
the child-care facility for seven or more children under 14 years of age for 
less than 24 hours a day, but at least two hours a day, three or more days 
a week. 

(8)  ”Group day-care home” means a child-care facility that provides 
care at the residence of the director, owner, or operator of the child-care 
facility for seven or more children under 14 years of age for less than 24 
hours a day, but at least two hours a day, three or more days a week. 

(9)  ”Family home” means a home that provides regular care in the 
caretaker’s own residence for not more than six children under 14 years of 
age, excluding children who are related to the caretaker, and that provides 
care after school hours for not more than six additional elementary school 
children, but the total number of children, including children who are 
related to the caretaker, does not exceed 12 at any given time.  The term 
does not include a home that provides care exclusively for any number of 
children who are related to the caretaker. 

(10)  "Cottage family home" means a family residential setting with 
one or more homes operating under the license of a cottage home 
operation and in which: 

(A)  each home has at least one houseparent who lives at the home 
while children are in care; and 

(B)  based on the size of the home and the children's needs, each 
home cares for not more than six children. 

(11)  ”Agency foster home” means a facility that provides care for not 
more than six children for 24 hours a day, is used only by a licensed child-
placing agency or continuum-of-care residential operation, and meets 
department standards. 

(12)  ”Child-placing agency” means a person, including an 
organization, other than the natural parents or guardian of a child who 
plans for the placement of or places a child in a child-care facility, agency 
foster home, or adoptive home. 

(13)  ”Facilities” includes child-care facilities, child-placing agencies, 
and continuum-of-care residential operations. 

(14)  ”State of Texas” or “state” does not include political 
subdivisions of the state. 

(15)  ”Religious organization” means a church, synagogue, or other 
religious institution whose purpose is to support and serve the propagation 
of truly held religious beliefs. 

(16)  ”Children who are related to the caretaker” means children who 
are the children, grandchildren, siblings, great-grandchildren, first cousins, 
nieces, or nephews of the caretaker, whether by affinity or consanguinity 
or as the result of a relationship created by court decree. 

(17)  ”Regular care” means care that is provided at least: 
(A)  four hours a day, three or more days a week, for three or more 

consecutive weeks; or 
(B)  four hours a day for 40 or more days in a period of 12 months. 
(18)  ”Controlling person” means a person who, either alone or in 

connection with others, has the ability to directly or indirectly influence or 
direct the management, expenditures, or policies of a facility or family 
home. 

(19)  ”Residential child-care facility” means a facility licensed or 
certified by the department that operates for all of the 24-hour day.  The 
term includes general residential operations, child-placing agencies, 
specialized child-care homes, cottage home operations, continuum-of-
care residential operations, and agency foster homes. 

(20)  ”Before-school or after-school program” means a child-care 
facility that provides care before or after, or before and after, the 
customary school day and during school holidays, for at least two hours a 
day, three days a week, to children who attend prekindergarten through 
grade six. 

(21)  ”School-age program” means a child-care facility that provides 
supervision, along with recreation or skills instruction or training, and may 
provide transportation, before or after the customary school day, for at 
least two hours a day, three days a week, to children attending 
prekindergarten through grade six.  A school-age program may also 
operate during school holidays, the summer period, or any other time 
when school is not in session. 

(22)  ”Children’s product” means a product that is designed or 
intended to be used by a child under 13 years of age or used by a 
caregiver during the care of a child under 13 years of age.  The term does 
not include: 

(A)  an item that is not designed or intended to be used solely or 
primarily by a child under 13 years of age or in the care of a child under 13 
years of age; 

(B)  a medication, a drug, food, or another item that is intended to be 
ingested; or 

(C)  clothing. 
(23)  “Other maltreatment” means: 
(A)  abuse, as defined by Section 261.001, Family Code; or 
(B)  neglect, as defined by Section 261.001, Family Code. 
(24)  "Specialized child-care home" means a child-care facility that: 
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(A)  based on the size of the home and the children's needs, 
provides care for not more than six children for 24 hours a day; and 

(B)  has a director and has at least one houseparent who lives at the 
home while children are in care. 

§42.003.  Reference to Child-Care Institution. 

A reference in law to a “child-care institution” means a general residential 
operation. 

§42.0031.  Reference to part of Continuum-of-Care Operation. 
With respect to a continuum-of-care operation, a reference in this code or 
in any other law to a type of residential child-care facility that is a part of a 
continuum-of-care operation shall be construed as a reference to that 
portion of the continuum-of-care operation, and the department may take 
all regulatory action with respect to the continuum-of-care operation that 
the department could take with respect to the type of residential child-care 
facility, as further specified in department rule. 

§42.004.  Confidentiality of Investigation Information. 

A photograph, videotape, audiotape, or other audio or visual recording, 
depiction, or documentation of a child that is made by the department in 
the course of an inspection or investigation authorized by this chapter or 
Section 261.401, Family Code, is confidential, is not subject to release 
under Chapter 552, Government Code, and may be released only as 
required by state or federal law or rules adopted by the executive 
commissioner. 

SUBCHAPTER B. ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS 

§42.021.  Division Designated. 

(a)  The department may designate a division within the department 
to carry out responsibilities the department may delegate or assign under 
this chapter.  The department shall ensure the independence of the 
division from the child protective services division. 

(b)  The commissioner shall appoint as director of a division 
designated under Subsection (a) a person who meets the qualifications 
set by the executive commissioner.  The commissioner shall ensure the 
director’s independence from the child protective services division and 
may not terminate the director without the approval of the executive 
commissioner. 

(c)  The department shall employ sufficient personnel and provide 
training for the personnel to carry out the provisions of this chapter. 

(d)  The commissioner may divide the state into regions for the 
purpose of administering this chapter. 

§42.0211.  Safety Specialists, Risk Analysts, and Performance 
Management. 

(a)  The division shall employ at least one specially trained 
investigation safety specialist, whose duties include the duty to: 

(1)  review and evaluate the intake of reports that include allegations 
associated with a higher risk of harm to the child; and 

(2)  consult with the assigned investigator to provide specialized 
guidance and resources to assist the investigation. 

(b)  The division shall employ at least one risk analyst, whose duties 
include the duty to: 

(1)  identify facilities, including child-placing agencies, whose 
compliance histories indicate the potential for a higher risk of harm to 
children in the care of the facility; 

(2)  review the monitoring and inspection reports for any facilities 
described by Subdivision (1) to assess the quality of the investigation or 
monitoring; and 

(3)  identify any additional monitoring or enforcement action that may 
be appropriate to ensure the safety of a child in the care of the facility. 

(c)  The division must include a performance management unit with 
duties that include: 

(1)  conducting quality assurance reviews of randomly selected 
monitoring and investigative reports to ensure compliance with all relevant 
laws, rules, and agency policies; and 

(2)  making recommendations to improve the quality and consistency 
of monitoring and investigations. 

§42.023.  Annual Report. 

(a)  The department shall prepare an annual written report regarding 
the department’s activities under this chapter. 

(b)  The annual report shall include: 
(1)  a report by regions of applications for licensure or certification, of 

initial licenses issued, denied, or revoked, of licenses issued, denied, 
suspended or revoked, of emergency closures and injunctions, and of the 
compliance of state-operated agencies, if such agencies exist, with 
certification requirements; 

(2)  a summary of the training programs required by the department 
and their effectiveness; 

(3)  a summary of training and other professional development 
opportunities offered to facilities’ staffs; 

(4)  a report of new administrative procedures, of the number of staff 
and staff changes, and of plans for the coming year; and 

(5)  a report of trends in licensing violations on a statewide and 
regional basis and the department’s plans to address those trends through 
the provision of technical assistance. 

(c)  Copies of the annual report shall be available to any state citizen 
on request. 

§42.024.  Administrative Procedure. 

Chapter 2001, Government Code applies to all procedures under this 
chapter except where it is contrary to or inconsistent with the provisions of 
this chapter. 

§42.025.  Searchable Database. 

(a)  The department shall maintain on the department's Internet 
website a searchable database that includes the name, the address, and 
any identification number, as applicable, of each family home registered or 
listed under this chapter that previously had a registration or listing 
involuntarily suspended or revoked under this chapter with a permanent 
notation indicating the involuntary suspension or revocation and the year 
in which the suspension or revocation took effect or was final under this 
chapter. 

(b)  The executive commissioner may adopt rules as necessary to 
implement this section. 

SUBCHAPTER C. REGULATION OF CERTAIN FACILITIES, HOMES, 
AND AGENCIES 

§42.041.  Required License. 

(a)  No person may operate a child-care facility or child-placing 
agency without a license issued by the department. 

(b)  This section does not apply to: 
(1)  a state-operated facility; 
(2)  an agency foster home; 
(3)  a facility that is operated in connection with a shopping center, 

business, religious organization, or establishment where children are 
cared for during short periods while parents or persons responsible for the 
children are attending religious services, shopping, or engaging in other 
activities, including retreats or classes for religious instruction, on or near 
the premises, that does not advertise as a child-care facility or day-care 
center, and that informs parents that it is not licensed by the state; 
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(4)  a school or class for religious instruction that does not last longer 
than two weeks and is conducted by a religious organization during the 
summer months; 

(5)  a youth camp licensed by the Department of State Health 
Services; 

(6)  a facility licensed, operated, certified, or registered by another 
state agency; 

(7)  an educational facility that is accredited by the Texas Education 
Agency, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, or an 
accreditation body that is a member of the Texas Private School 
Accreditation Commission and that operates primarily for educational 
purposes for prekindergarten and above, a before-school or after-school 
program operated directly by an accredited educational facility, or a 
before-school or after-school program operated by another entity under 
contract with the educational facility, if the Texas Education Agency, the 
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, or the other accreditation 
body, as applicable, has approved the curriculum content of the before-
school or after-school program operated under the contract; 

(8)  an educational facility that operates solely for educational 
purposes for prekindergarten through at least grade two, that does not 
provide custodial care for more than one hour during the hours before or 
after the customary school day, and that is a member of an organization 
that promulgates, publishes, and requires compliance with health, safety, 
fire, and sanitation standards equal to standards required by state, 
municipal, and county codes; 

(9)  a kindergarten or preschool educational program that is 
operated as part of a public school or a private school accredited by the 
Texas Education Agency, that offers educational programs through grade 
six, and that does not provide custodial care during the hours before or 
after the customary school day; 

(10)  a family home, whether registered or listed; 
(11)  an educational facility that is integral to and inseparable from its 

sponsoring religious organization or an educational facility both of which 
do not provide custodial care for more than two hours maximum per day, 
and that offers an educational program in one or more of the 
following:  prekindergarten through at least grade three, elementary 
grades, or secondary grades; 

(12)  an emergency shelter facility, other than a facility that would 
otherwise require a license as a child-care facility under this section, that 
provides shelter or care to a minor and the minor's child or children, if any, 
under Section 32.201, Family Code, if the facility:  

(A) is currently under a contract with a state or federal agency; or 
(B) meets the requirements listed under Section 51.005(b)(3); 
(13)  a juvenile detention facility certified under Section 51.12, 

Family Code, a juvenile correctional facility certified under Section 51.125, 
Family Code, a juvenile facility providing services solely for the Texas 
Juvenile Justice Department, or any other correctional facility for children 
operated or regulated by another state agency or by a political subdivision 
of the state; 

(14)  an elementary-age (ages 5-13) recreation program operated by 
a municipality provided the governing body of the municipality annually 
adopts standards of care by ordinance after a public hearing for such 
programs, that such standards are provided to the parents of each 
program participant, and that the ordinances shall include, at a minimum, 
staffing ratios, minimum staff qualifications, minimum facility, health, and 
safety standards, and mechanisms for monitoring and enforcing the 
adopted local standards; and further provided that parents be informed 
that the program is not licensed by the state and the program may not be 
advertised as a child-care facility; 

(15)  an annual youth camp held in a municipality with a population 
of more than 1.5 million that operates for not more than three months and 
that has been operated for at least 10 years by a nonprofit organization 
that provides care for the homeless; 

(16)  a food distribution program that: 

(A)  serves an evening meal to children two years of age or older; 
and 

(B)  is operated by a nonprofit food bank in a nonprofit, religious, or 
educational facility for not more than two hours a day on regular business 
days; 

(17)  a child-care facility that operates for less than three 
consecutive weeks and less than 40 days in a period of 12 months; 

(18)  a program: 
(A)  in which a child receives direct instruction in a single skill, talent, 

ability, expertise, or proficiency; 
(B)  that does not provide services or offerings that are not directly 

related to the single talent, ability, expertise, or proficiency; 
(C)  that does not advertise or otherwise represent that the program 

is a child-care facility, day-care center, or licensed before-school or after-
school program or that the program offers child-care services; 

(D)  that informs the parent or guardian: 
(i)  that the program is not licensed by the state; and 
(ii)  about the physical risks a child may face while participating in 

the program; and 
(E)  that conducts background checks for all program employees 

and volunteers who work with children in the program using information 
that is obtained from the Department of Public Safety; 

(19)  an elementary-age (ages 5-13) recreation program that: 
(A)  adopts standards of care, including standards relating to staff 

ratios, staff training, health, and safety; 
(B)  provides a mechanism for monitoring and enforcing the 

standards and receiving complaints from parents of enrolled children; 
(C)  does not advertise as or otherwise represent the program as a 

child-care facility, day-care center, or licensed before-school or after-
school program or that the program offers child-care services; 

(D)  informs parents that the program is not licensed by the state; 
(E)  is organized as a nonprofit organization or is located on the 

premises of a participant’s residence; 
(F)  does not accept any remuneration other than a nominal annual 

membership fee; 
(G)  does not solicit donations as compensation or payment for any 

good or service provided as part of the program; and 
(H)  conducts background checks for all program employees and 

volunteers who work with children in the program using information that is 
obtained from the Department of Public Safety; 

(20)  a living arrangement in a caretaker’s home involving one or 
more children or a sibling group, excluding children who are related to the 
caretaker, in which the caretaker: 

(A)  had a prior relationship with the child or sibling group or other 
family members of the child or sibling group; 

(B)  does not care for more than one unrelated child or sibling group; 
(C)  does not receive compensation or solicit donations for the care 

of the child or sibling group; and 
(D)  has a written agreement with the parent to care for the child or 

sibling group; 
(21)  a living arrangement in a caretaker’s home involving one or 

more children or a sibling group, excluding children who are related to the 
caretaker, in which: 

(A)  the department is the managing conservator of the child or 
sibling group; 

(B)  the department placed the child or sibling group in the 
caretaker’s home; and 

(C)  the caretaker had a long-standing and significant relationship 
with the child or sibling group before the child or sibling group was placed 
with the caretaker; 

(22)  a living arrangement in a caretaker’s home involving one or 
more children or a sibling group, excluding children who are related to the 
caretaker, in which the child is in the United States on a time-limited visa 
under the sponsorship of the caretaker or of a sponsoring organization or 

(23)  a facility operated by a nonprofit organization that: 
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(A)  does not otherwise operate as a child-care facility that is 
required to be licensed under this section; 

(B)  provides emergency shelter and care for not more than 15 days 
to children 13 years of age or older but younger than 18 years of age who 
are victims of human trafficking alleged under Section 20A.02, Penal 
Code; 

(C)  is located in a municipality with a population of at least 600,000 
that is in a county on an international border; and 

(D)  meets one of the following criteria: 
(i)  is licensed by, or operates under an agreement with, a state or 

federal agency to provide shelter and care to children; or 
(ii)  meets the eligibility requirements for a contract under Section 

51.005(b)(3); or 
(24) a living arrangement in a caretaker’s home involving one or 

more children or a sibling group in which the caretaker: 
(A) has a written authorization agreement under Chapter 34, Family 

Code, with the parent of each child or sibling group to care for each child 
or sibling group; 

(B) does not care for more than six children, excluding children who 
are related to the caretaker; and 

(C) does not receive compensation for caring for any child or sibling 
group. 

(24)  a facility that provides respite care exclusively for a local mental 
health authority under a contract with the local mental health authority. 

(c)  A single license that lists addresses and the appropriate facilities 
may be issued to a general residential operation that operates 
noncontiguous facilities that are across the street from, in the same city 
block as, or on the same property as one another and that are 
demonstrably a single operation as indicated by patterns of staffing, 
finance, administrative supervision, and programs. 

(d)  A facility exempt from the provisions of Subsection (a) that 
desires to receive or participate in federal or state funding shall be 
required to comply with all other provisions of this chapter and with all 
regulations promulgated under this chapter. 

(e)  The exemptions provided by Subsection (b) do not affect the 
authority of local, regional, or state health department officials, the state 
fire marshal, or local fire prevention officials to inspect child-care facilities. 

(f)  Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (b)(14), a 
municipality that operates an elementary-age (ages 5-13) recreation 
program may, in lieu of an annual public hearing, accept public comment 
through the municipality’s Internet website for at least 30 days before the 
municipality adopts standards of care by ordinance if the municipality: 

(1)  has a population of 300,000 or more; and 
(2)  has held at least two annual public hearings on the standards of 

care and adopted standards of care by ordinance after those public 
hearings. 

(g)  A child-care facility that is exempt under Subsection (b)(3) from 
the licensing requirement of Subsection (a) may provide care for each 
child at the child-care facility for not more than 15 hours a week if the 
child-care facility: 

(1)  provides the child care so that a person may attend an 
educational class provided by a nonprofit entity; and 

(2)  is located in a county with a population of 800,000 or more that 
is adjacent to an international border. 

§42.042.  Rules and Standards. 

(a)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules to carry out the 
provisions of this chapter. 

(b)  The department shall conduct a comprehensive review of all 
rules and standards at least every six years.  For purposes of this 
subsection, the six-year period begins on the latest of the date of: 

(1)  the conclusion of the review of the rules and standards; 
(2)  a decision by the department not to revise the rules and 

standards; 

(3)  a decision by the executive commissioner not to revise the rules 
and standards;  or 

(4)  executive commissioner action adopting new standards. 
(c)  The department shall provide a standard procedure for receiving 

and recording complaints.  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules 
regarding the receipt of anonymous complaints made regarding child-care 
facilities and family homes to limit the number of anonymous complaints 
investigated by the department. 

(d)  The department shall provide standard forms for applications 
and inspection reports. 

(e)  The executive commissioner shall promulgate minimum 
standards that apply to licensed child-care facilities and to registered 
family homes covered by this chapter and that will: 

(1)  promote the health, safety, and welfare of children attending a 
facility or registered family home; 

(2)  promote safe, comfortable, and healthy physical facilities and 
registered family homes for children; 

(3)  ensure adequate supervision of children by capable, qualified, 
and healthy personnel; 

(4)  ensure adequate and healthy food service where food service is 
offered; 

(5)  prohibit racial discrimination by child-care facilities and 
registered family homes;   

(6)  require procedures for parental and guardian consultation in the 
formulation of children’s educational and therapeutic programs;   

(7)  prevent the breakdown of foster care and adoptive placement; 
and 

(8)  ensure that a child-care facility or registered family home: 
(A)  follows the directions of a child’s physician or other health care 

provider in providing specialized medical assistance required by the child; 
and 

(B)  maintains for a reasonable time a copy of any directions from 
the physician or provider that the parent provides to the facility or home. 

(e-1)  The department may not prohibit possession of lawfully 
permitted firearms and ammunition in an agency foster home.  Minimum 
standards may be adopted under this section relating to safety and proper 
storage of firearms and ammunition, including standards requiring 
firearms and ammunition to be stored separately in locked locations. 

(e-2)  The department may not prohibit the foster parent of a child 
who resides in the foster family’s home from transporting the child in a 
vehicle where a handgun is present if the handgun is in the possession 
and control of the foster parent and the foster parent is licensed to carry 
the handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code. 

(f)  In promulgating minimum standards for the provision of child-
care services, the executive commissioner shall recognize the various 
categories of services, including services for specialized care, the various 
categories of children and their particular needs, and the differences in the 
organization and operation of child-care facilities and general residential 
operations.  Standards for general residential operations must require an 
intake study before a child is placed in an operation.  The intake study 
may be conducted at a community mental health and intellectual disability 
center. 

(g)  In promulgating minimum standards the executive commissioner 
may recognize and treat differently the types of services provided by the 
following: 

(1)  registered family homes; 
(2)  child-care facilities, including general residential operations, 

cottage home operations, specialized child-care homes, group day-care 
homes, and day-care centers; 

(3)  child-placing agencies; 
(4)  agency foster homes; 
(5)  continuum-of-care residential operations; 
(6)  before-school or after-school programs; and 
(7)  school-age programs. 
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(g-1)  The executive commissioner in adopting and the department 
in enforcing minimum standards for a school-age program shall consider 
commonly accepted training methods for the development of a skill, talent, 
ability, expertise, or proficiency that are implemented with the consent of 
the parent or guardian of the participant and that are fundamental to the 
core purpose of the program. 

(g-2)  The executive commissioner by rule shall adopt minimum 
standards that apply to general residential operations that provide 
comprehensive residential and nonresidential services to persons who are 
victims of trafficking under Section 20A.02, Penal Code.  In adopting the 
minimum standards under this subsection, the executive commissioner 
shall consider: 

(1)  the special circumstances and needs of victims of trafficking of 
persons; and 

(2)  the role of the general residential operations in assisting and 
supporting victims of trafficking of persons. 

(h)  The executive commissioner shall promulgate minimum 
standards for child-placing agencies. 

(h-1)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules governing: 
(1)  the placement and care of children by a child-placing agency, as 

necessary to ensure the health and safety of those children; 
(2)  the verification and monitoring of agency foster homes and 

adoptive homes by a child-placing agency; and 
(3)  if appropriate, child-placing agency staffing levels, office 

locations, and administration. 
(i)  Before the executive commissioner adopts minimum standards, 

the department shall: 
(1)  convene a temporary work group to advise the executive 

commissioner regarding the proposed standards, composed of at least six 
members who represent the diverse geographic regions of this state, 
including: 

(A)  a department official designated by the commissioner to 
facilitate the work group’s activities; 

(B)  a person with demonstrated expertise or knowledge regarding 
the different types and classifications of child-care facilities, homes, 
agencies, or programs that will be covered by the proposed standards; 

(C)  a parent with experience related to one of the different types or 
classifications of child-care facilities, homes, agencies, or programs that 
will be covered by the proposed standards; and 

(D)  a representative of a nonprofit entity licensed under this chapter; 
and 

(2)  send a copy of the proposed standards to each licensee covered 
by the proposed standards at least 60 days before the standards take 
effect to provide the licensee an opportunity to review and to send written 
suggestions to the department. 

(j)  The department may waive compliance with a minimum standard 
in a specific instance if it determines that the economic impact of 
compliance is sufficiently great to make compliance impractical. 

(k)  The department may not regulate or attempt to regulate or 
control the content or method of any instruction or curriculum of a school 
sponsored by a religious organization. 

(l)  In promulgating minimum standards for the regulation of family 
homes that register with the department, the executive commissioner 
must address the minimum qualifications, education, and training required 
of a person who operates a family home registered with the department. 

(m)  In determining minimum standards relating to staff-to-child 
ratios, group sizes, or square footage requirements applicable to 
nonresidential child-care facilities that provide care for less than 24 hours 
a day, the department shall, within available appropriations, conduct a 
comprehensive cost-benefit analysis and economic impact study that 
includes families and licensed child-care providers. 

(n)  Not later than the 60th day before the date the executive 
commissioner adopts a revision to the minimum standards for child-care 
facilities, the executive commissioner shall present the revision to the 

appropriate legislative oversight committees that have jurisdiction over 
child-care facilities for review and comment. 

(p)  The executive commissioner by rule shall prescribe minimum 
training standards for an employee of a regulated child-care facility, 
including the time required for completing the training.  The executive 
commissioner may not require an employee to repeat required training if 
the employee has completed the training within the time prescribed by 
department rule.  The department’s local offices shall make available at 
the local office locations a copy of the rules regarding minimum training 
standards, information enabling the owner or operator of a regulated 
facility to apply for training funds from other agencies to lower facility 
costs, and any other materials the department may develop to assist the 
owner or operator or other entity in providing the training. 

(q)  Each residential child-care facility shall notify the department 
and the appropriate local law enforcement agency immediately on 
determining that a child is missing from the facility. 

(r)  A residential child-care facility that provides emergency services 
may temporarily exceed the facility’s capacity for not more than 48 hours 
to provide temporary care for a child in an emergency.  The facility shall 
notify the department within 24 hours of the placement that the facility 
temporarily exceeded the facility’s capacity. 

(s)  A continuum-of-care residential operation shall ensure that each 
residential child-care facility operating under the operation's license 
complies with this chapter and any standards and rules adopted under this 
chapter that apply to the facility.  The executive commissioner by rule may 
prescribe the actions a continuum-of-care residential operation must take 
to comply with the minimum standards for each facility type. 

§42.0421.  Minimum Training Standards. 

(a)  The minimum training standards prescribed by the executive 
commissioner under Section 42.042(p) for an employee, director, or 
operator of a day-care center, group day-care home, or registered family 
home must include: 

(1)  24 hours of initial training that must be completed not later than 
the 90th day after the employee’s first day of employment for an employee 
of a day-care center who has no previous training or less than two years 
of employment experience in a regulated child-care facility, eight hours of 
which must be completed before the employee is given responsibility for a 
group of children; 

(2)  24 hours of annual training for each employee of a day-care 
center or group day-care home, excluding the director, which must include 
at least six hours of training in one or more of the following areas: 

(A)  child growth and development; 
(B)  guidance and discipline; 
(C)  age-appropriate curriculum; 
(D)  teacher-child interaction; and 
(3)  30 hours of annual training for each director of a day-care center 

or group day-care home, or operator of a registered family home which 
must include at least six hours of training in one or more of the following 
areas: 

(A)  child growth and development; 
(B)  guidance and discipline; 
(C)  age-appropriate curriculum; and 
(D)  teacher-child interaction. 
(b)  The minimum training standards prescribed by the executive 

commissioner under Section 42.042(p) must require an employee of a 
licensed day-care center or group day-care home who provides care for 
children younger than 24 months of age to receive special training 
regarding the care of those children.  The special training must be 
included as a component of the initial training required by Subsection 
(a)(1) and as a one-hour component of the annual training required by 
Subsections (a)(2) and (a)(3).  The special training must include 
information on: 

(1)  recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome; 
(2)  preventing sudden infant death syndrome;  and 
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(3)  understanding early childhood brain development. 
(c)  The executive commissioner by rule shall require an operator of 

a registered family home who provides care for a child younger than 24 
months of age to complete one hour of annual training on: 

(1)  recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome; 
(2)  preventing sudden infant death syndrome;  and 
(3)  understanding early childhood brain development. 
(d)  Section 42.042(m) does not apply to the minimum training 

standards required by this section. 
(e)  In addition to other training required by this section, the 

executive commissioner by rule shall require an owner, operator, or 
employee of a day-care center, group day-care home, registered family 
home, general residential operation, cottage home operation, or 
specialized child-care home who transports a child under the care of the 
facility whose chronological or developmental age is younger than nine 
years of age to complete at least two hours of annual training on 
transportation safety. 

(f)  The training required by this section must be appropriately 
targeted and relevant to the age of the children who will receive care from 
the individual receiving training and must be provided by a person who: 

(1)  is a training provider registered with the Texas Early Childhood 
Professional Development System’s Texas Trainer Registry that is 
maintained by the Texas Head Start State Collaboration Office; 

(2)  is an instructor at a public or private secondary school, an 
institution of higher education, as defined by Section 61.003, Education 
Code, or a private college or university accredited by a recognized 
accrediting agency who teaches early childhood development or another 
relevant course, as determined by rules adopted by the commissioner of 
education and the commissioner of higher education; 

(3)  is an employee of a state agency with relevant expertise; 
(4)  is a physician, psychologist, licensed professional counselor, 

social worker, or registered nurse; 
(5)  holds a generally recognized credential or possesses 

documented knowledge relevant to the training the person will provide; 
(6)  is a registered family home care provider or director of a day-

care center or group day-care home in good standing with the department, 
if applicable, and who: 

(A)  has demonstrated core knowledge in child development and 
caregiving; and 

(B)  is only providing training at the home or center in which the 
provider or director and the person receiving training are employed; or 

(7)  has at least two years of experience working in child 
development, a child development program, early childhood education, a 
childhood education program, or a Head Start or Early Head Start 
program and: 

(A)  has been awarded a Child Development Associate (CDA) 
credential; or 

(B)  holds at least an associate’s degree in child development, early 
childhood education, or a related field. 

(g)  A person described by Subsection (f)(6) may provide training 
under this section only if the department has not taken an action under 
Section 42.071, 42.072, or 42.078, other than an evaluation, against the 
license, listing, or registration of the person or the home or center for 
which the person is a provider or director during the two-year period 
preceding the date on which the person provides the training. 

(h)  In adopting the minimum training standards under Section 
42.042(p), the executive commissioner may not require more training 
hours than the number of hours prescribed by Subsection (a) for a day-
care center, group day-care home, or a registered family home. 

(i)  The executive commissioner by rule shall adopt minimum training 
standards for before-school or after-school and school-age programs as 
required by Section 42.042(p). In adopting minimum training standards for 
before-school or after-school and school-age programs under this 
subsection, the executive commissioner may not require more initial or 

annual training hours than the number of hours required by Subsection (a) 
immediately before September 1, 2011. 

§42.0422.  Restraint and Seclusion. 

A person providing services to a resident of a general residential 
operation, including a state-operated facility that is a residential treatment 
center or a general residential operation serving children with intellectual 
disabilities, shall comply with Chapter 322, Health and Safety Code, and 
the rules adopted under that chapter. 

§42.0423.  Children’s Product Safety for Certain Nonresidential Child-
Care Facilities. 

(a)  This section applies only to a licensed day-care center, licensed 
group day-care home, or registered family home. 

(b)  A children’s product is presumed to be unsafe for purposes of 
this section if it has been recalled for any reason by the United States 
Consumer Product Safety Commission and the recall has not been 
rescinded. 

(c)  A children’s product that has been recalled for any reason by the 
United States Consumer Product Safety Commission is not presumed to 
be unsafe if the product has been remanufactured or retrofitted so that the 
product is safe. 

(d)  The department shall include on its public Internet website a link 
to the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission’s Internet 
website. 

(e)  A child-care facility subject to this section may not use an unsafe 
children’s product or have an unsafe children’s product on the premises of 
the child-care facility unless: 

(1)  the product is an antique or collectible children’s product and is 
not used by, or accessible to, any child in the child-care facility; or 

(2)  the unsafe children’s product is being retrofitted to make it safe 
and the product is not used by, or accessible to, any child in the child-care 
facility. 

(f)  The department shall notify a child-care facility subject to this 
section of the provisions of this section in plain, nontechnical language 
that will enable the child-care facility to effectively inspect the children’s 
products at the facility and identify unsafe children’s products.  The 
department shall provide the notice required by this subsection: 

(1)  during the department’s pre-application interview for a license, 
registration, or certification; and 

(2)  during an inspection. 
(g)  At least annually, each child-care facility subject to this section 

shall certify in writing that the facility has reviewed each of the bulletins 
and notices issued by the United States Consumer Product Safety 
Commission regarding unsafe children’s products and that there are no 
unsafe products in the facility except products described by Subsection 
(e).  The facility shall retain the certification form completed by each 
facility in the facility’s licensing file. 

(h)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules and forms 
necessary to implement this section. 

§42.0424.  Child Safety Alarms in Vehicles. 

(a) In this section, "electronic child safety alarm" means an alarm 
system that prompts the driver of a vehicle to inspect the vehicle to 
determine whether children are in the vehicle before the driver exits the 
vehicle. 

(b)  A licensed day-care center shall equip each vehicle owned or 
leased by the facility with an electronic child safety alarm if the vehicle is: 

(1)  designed to seat eight or more persons; and 
(2)  used to transport children under the care of the facility. 
(c)  The licensed day-care center shall ensure that the electronic 

child safety alarm is properly maintained and used when transporting 
children. 
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(d)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules to implement this 
section. 

(e)  This section applies only to a vehicle purchased or leased on or 
after December 31, 2013. 

§42.0425.  Assessment Services. 

(a)  The executive commissioner by rule shall regulate assessment 
services provided by child-care facilities or child-placing agencies.  A 
child-care facility or child-placing agency may not provide assessment 
services unless specifically authorized by the department. 

(b)  The executive commissioner by rule shall establish minimum 
standards for assessment services.  The standards must provide that 
consideration is given to the individual needs of a child, the appropriate 
place for provision of services, and the factors listed in Section 42.042(e). 

(c)  In this section, “assessment services” means the determination 
of the placement needs of a child who requires substitute care. 

§42.0426.  Training of Personnel. 

(a)  A licensed facility shall provide training for staff members in: 
(1)  the recognition of symptoms of child abuse, neglect, and sexual 

molestation and the responsibility and procedure of reporting suspected 
occurrences of child abuse, neglect, and sexual molestation to the 
department or other appropriate entity; 

(2)  the application of first aid; and 
(3)  the prevention and spread of communicable diseases. 
(a-1)  A licensed facility shall require each employee of the facility 

who attends a training program required by Subsection (a)(1) to sign a 
statement verifying the employee's attendance at the training program.  
The licensed facility shall maintain the statement in the employee's 
personnel records. 

(b)  A residential child-care facility shall implement a behavior 
intervention program approved by the department for the benefit of a child 
served by the facility who needs assistance in managing the child’s 
conduct.  The program must include: 

(1)  behavior intervention instruction for staff members who work 
directly with children served by the facility; and 

(2)  training for all employees regarding the risks associated with the 
use of prone restraints. 

(c)  Not later than the seventh day after the date an employee begins 
employment at a day-care center, group day-care home, or registered 
family home, the employee must complete an orientation to the facility. 

§42.04261.  Other Training of Personnel: Child-Placing Agencies and 
Day-Care Centers.  

(a)  Notwithstanding Section 42.0426(a)(1), a child-placing agency or 
day-care center shall provide training for staff members in prevention 
techniques for and the recognition of symptoms of sexual abuse and other 
maltreatment of children and the responsibility and procedure of reporting 
suspected occurrences of sexual abuse and other maltreatment of 
children to the department or other appropriate entity. 

(b)  The type of training required under Subsection (a) shall be 
determined by department rule. The training must be provided for at least 
an hour annually and must include training concerning: 

(1)  factors indicating a child is at risk for sexual abuse or other 
maltreatment; 

(2)  likely warning signs indicating a child may be a victim of sexual 
abuse or other maltreatment;  

(3)  internal procedures for reporting sexual abuse or other 
maltreatment; and 

(4)  community organizations that have existing training programs 
that are able to provide training or other education for child-placing agency 
or day-care center staff members, children, and parents. 

(c)  If a child-placing agency or day-care center determines that it 
does not have sufficient resources to provide the training required under 

this section, the agency or center may contact a department licensing 
employee to obtain information concerning community organizations that 
will provide such training at no cost to the agency or center. 

§42.0427.  Parental Visitation. 

All areas of a licensed facility must be accessible to a parent of a child 
who is receiving care at the facility if the parent visits the child during the 
facility’s hours of operation. 

§42.0428.  Policies Addressing Sexual Abuse and Other Maltreatment 
of Children. 

(a)  Each child-placing agency or day-care center shall adopt and 
implement a policy addressing sexual abuse and other maltreatment of 
children. 

(b)  A policy required by this section must address: 
(1)  methods for increasing child-placing agency and day-care center 

staff and parent awareness of issues regarding and prevention techniques 
for sexual abuse and other maltreatment of children, including knowledge 
of likely warning signs indicating that a child may be a victim of sexual 
abuse or other maltreatment; and 

(2)  actions that, after contacting an agency or center, the parent of a 
child who is a victim of sexual abuse or other maltreatment should take to 
obtain assistance and intervention. 

(c)  The methods under Subsection (b)(1) for increasing awareness 
of issues regarding and prevention techniques for sexual abuse and other 
maltreatment of children must include: 

(1)  the training required under Section 42.04261; and 
(2)  strategies for coordination between the child-placing agency or 

day-care center and appropriate community organizations. 

§42.043.  Rules for Immunizations.  

(a)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules for the 
immunization of children in facilities regulated under this chapter. 

(b)  The department shall require that each child at an appropriate 
age have a test for tuberculosis and be immunized against diphtheria, 
tetanus, poliomyelitis, mumps, rubella, rubeola, invasive pneumococcal 
disease, and hepatitis A and against any other communicable disease as 
recommended by the Department of State Health Services.  The 
immunization must be effective on the date of first entry into the 
facility.  However, a child may be provisionally admitted if the required 
immunizations have begun and are completed as rapidly as medically 
feasible. 

(c)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules for the provisional 
admission of children to facilities regulated under this chapter and may 
modify or delete any of the immunizations listed in Subsection (b) or 
require additional immunizations as a requirement for admission to a 
facility. 

(d)  No immunization may be required for admission to a facility 
regulated under this chapter if a person applying for a child’s admission 
submits one of the following affidavits: 

(1)  an affidavit signed by a licensed physician stating that the 
immunization poses a significant risk to the health and well-being of the 
child or a member of the child’s family or household;  or 

(2)  an affidavit signed by the child’s parent or guardian stating that 
the applicant declines immunization for reasons of conscience, including a 
religious belief. 

(d-1)  An affidavit submitted under Section (d)(2) must be on a form 
described by Section 161.0041, Health and Safety Code, and must be 
submitted not later than the 90th day after the date the affidavit is 
notarized. 

(e)  Each regulated facility shall keep an individual immunization 
record for each child admitted, and the records shall be open for 
inspection by the department at all reasonable times. 
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(f)  The Department of State Health Services shall provide the 
immunizations required by this section to children in areas where there is 
no local provision of these services. 

§42.04305. Vaccine-Preventable Disease Policy Required. 

(a)  In this section: 
(1)  "Facility employee" means an employee of a child-care facility. 
(2)  "Vaccine-preventable diseases" means the diseases included in 

the most current recommendations of the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices of the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention. 

(b)  Each child-care facility, other than a facility that provides care in 
the home of the director, owner, operator, or caretaker of the facility, shall 
develop and implement a policy to protect the children in its care from 
vaccine-preventable diseases. 

(c)  The policy must: 
(1)  require each facility employee to receive vaccines for the 

vaccine-preventable diseases specified by the child-care facility based on 
the level of risk the employee presents to children by the employee's 
routine and direct exposure to children; 

(2)  specify the vaccines a facility employee is required to receive 
based on the level of risk the employee presents to children by the 
employee's routine and direct exposure to children; 

(3)  include procedures for verifying whether a facility employee has 
complied with the policy; 

(4)  include procedures for a facility employee to be exempt from the 
required vaccines for the medical conditions identified as contraindications 
or precautions by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; 

(5)  for a facility employee who is exempt from the required vaccines, 
include procedures the employee must follow to protect children in the 
facility's care from exposure to disease, such as the use of protective 
medical equipment, including gloves and masks, based on the level of risk 
the employee presents to children by the employee's routine and direct 
exposure to children; 

(6)  prohibit discrimination or retaliatory action against a facility 
employee who is exempt from the required vaccines for the medical 
conditions identified as contraindications or precautions by the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention, except that required use of protective 
medical equipment, including gloves and masks, may not be considered 
retaliatory action for purposes of this subdivision; 

(7)  require the child-care facility to maintain a written or electronic 
record of each facility employee's compliance with or exemption from the 
policy; and 

(8)  state the disciplinary actions the child-care facility is authorized 
to take against a facility employee who fails to comply with the policy. 

(d)  The policy shall include procedures for a facility employee to be 
exempt from the required vaccines based on reasons of conscience, 
including a religious belief. 

(e)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules necessary to 
implement this section. 

§42.0431.  Enforcement of Screening Requirements Relating to 
Vision, Hearing, and Other Special Senses and Communication 
Disorders. 

(a)  The executive commissioner, after consultation with the 
Department of State Health Services, shall adopt rules necessary to 
ensure that children receiving care at a day-care center or group day-care 
home licensed under this chapter are screened for vision, hearing, and 
any other special senses or communication disorders in compliance with 
rules adopted under Section 36.004, Health and Safety Code. 

(b)  Each day-care center or group day-care home licensed under 
this chapter shall maintain individual screening records for children 
attending the facility who are required to be screened, and the department 
may inspect those records at any reasonable time.  The department shall 
coordinate the monitoring inspections in compliance with protocol 

agreements adopted between the department and the Department of 
State Health Services pursuant to Section 42.0442. 

§42.0432.  Health Screening Requirements for Child Placed with 
Child-Placing Agency.   
 (a)  A child-placing agency or general residential operation that 
contracts with the department to provide services must ensure that the 
children that are in the managing conservatorship of the department and 
are placed with the child-placing agency or general residential operation 
receive a complete early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment 
checkup in accordance with the requirements specified in the contract 
between the child-placing agency or general residential operation and the 
department. 

(b)  The commission shall include a provision in a contract with a 
child-placing agency or general residential operation specifying 
progressive monetary penalties for the child-placing agency's or general 
residential operation's failure to comply with Subsection (a). 

§42.044.  Inspections. 

(a)  An authorized representative of the department may visit a 
facility regulated under this chapter or a registered family home during 
operating hours to investigate, inspect, and evaluate. 

(b)  Except as provided by Subsection (b-3), the department shall 
inspect all licensed or certified facilities at least once a year and may 
inspect other facilities or registered family homes as necessary. At least 
one of the annual visits must be unannounced and all may be 
unannounced. 

(b-1)  At least one of the unannounced, annual inspections of a 
residential child-care facility must be conducted by a team of at least two 
residential child-care monitoring staff, and, if feasible, members of the 
inspection team must be from different residential child-care monitoring 
units. 

(b-2)  Except as otherwise provided by this subsection, during an 
unannounced annual or biennial inspection of a day-care center, the 
department shall meet with the director designated by the day-care center 
as having daily, on-site responsibility for the operation of the day-care 
center to assess whether the director meets the qualifications of a director 
specified by this chapter and department rules.  If the director is not 
present during the unannounced annual or biennial inspection, the 
department shall schedule a subsequent meeting with the director for that 
purpose and shall conduct that meeting at the day-care center. 

(b-3)  The department may, in accordance with rules adopted by the 
executive commissioner, designate a licensed day-care center or group 
day-care home for a biennial inspection if the department determines, 
based on previous inspections, that the facility has a history of substantial 
compliance with minimum licensing standards.  The biennial inspection of 
a day-care center or group day-care home must be unannounced. 

 (c)  The department must investigate a facility regulated under this 
chapter or a registered family home when a complaint is received.  The 
representative of the department must notify the operator of a registered 
family home or the director or authorized representative of a regulated 
facility when a complaint is being investigated and report in writing the 
results of the investigation to the family home’s operator or to the 
regulated facility’s director or the director’s authorized representative. 

(c-1)  The department: 
(1)  shall investigate a listed family home if the department receives 

a complaint that: 
(A)  a child in the home has been abused or neglected, as defined 

by Section 261.001, Family Code; or 
(B)  otherwise alleges an immediate risk of danger to the health or 

safety of a child being cared for in the home; and 
(2)  may investigate a listed family home to ensure that the home is 

providing care for compensation to not more than three children, excluding 
children who are related to the caretaker. 
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(c-2)  The department must notify the operator of a listed family 
home when a complaint is being investigated under this section and report 
in writing the results of the investigation to the family home’s operator. 

(d)  The department may call on political subdivisions and 
governmental agencies for assistance within their authorized fields. 

(e)  In addition to the department’s responsibility to investigate an 
agency foster home under Subsection (c), the department shall: 

(1)  periodically conduct inspections of a random sample of agency 
foster homes; 

(2)  investigate any report of a serious incident in an agency foster 
home that pertains to a child under the age of six; 

(3)  investigate any alleged violation of a minimum standard by an 
agency foster home that poses a high degree of risk to a child in the care 
of the home who is under the age of six; and 

(4)  conduct at least one annual enforcement team conference for 
each child-placing agency to thoroughly review the investigations or 
inspections of the child-placing agency and all of its agency foster homes 
to monitor and enforce compliance by a child-placing agency with rules 
and standards established under Section 42.042. 

(f)  The department shall use an inspection checklist that includes a 
list of all required items for inspection in conducting a monitoring 
inspection under this section. 

§42.0441.  Inspection Results for Certain Nonresidential Child-Care 
Facilities. 

Immediately after completing a monitoring inspection  of a licensed day-
care center, licensed group day-care home, or registered family home 
under Section 42.044, the authorized representative of the department 
shall review the results of the monitoring inspection with a representative 
of the facility and give the facility an opportunity to respond to the 
inspection results. 

§42.04411.  Inspection Results and Exit Conference for Residential 
Child-Care Facilities. 

(a)  On completion of an inspection of a residential child-care facility 
under Section 42.044, the inspector shall hold an exit conference with a 
representative of the inspected facility.  The inspector shall provide to the 
representative a copy of the inspection checklist used by the inspector. 

(b)  The inspector shall provide the representative an opportunity to 
communicate regarding potential violations. 

§42.04412.  Interference With Inspection; Court Order. 

(a)  A person may not interfere with an investigation or inspection of 
a facility or family home conducted by the department under this chapter. 

(b)  During an investigation or inspection of a facility or family home 
under this chapter, the facility or family home shall cooperate with the 
department and allow the department to: 

(1)  access the records of the facility or family home; 
(2)  access any part of the premises of the facility or family home; 

and 
(3)  interview any child, employee, or other person who is present at 

the facility or family home and who may have information relevant to the 
investigation or inspection. 

(c)  If access to the records or premises of the facility or family home 
cannot be obtained, a district court in Travis County or in the county in 
which the facility or family home is located, for good cause shown and 
without prior notice or a hearing, shall issue an order granting the 
department access to the records or premises in order to conduct the 
inspection, investigation, or interview. 

(d)  To assist the department in investigating whether a person is 
operating a facility or family home without a required license, certification, 
registration, or listing, a district court in Travis County or in the county in 
which the suspected facility or family home is located may, for good cause 
shown and without prior notice or a hearing, issue an order allowing the 

department to enter the suspected facility or family home at a time when 
the department’s evidence shows that the suspected facility or family 
home may be providing child care subject to regulation under this chapter. 

§42.0442.  Coordination of inspections;  Elimination of Duplicative 
Inspections. 

(a)  The department shall coordinate monitoring inspections of 
licensed day-care centers, licensed group day-care homes, and registered 
family homes performed by another state agency to eliminate redundant 
inspections. 

(b)  [Repealed by Acts 2013, 84th Leg. (S.B. 277)]  
(c)  Each state agency that inspects a facility listed in Subsection (a) 

shall use an inspection checklist established by the department in 
performing an inspection.  A state agency shall make a copy of the 
completed inspection checklist available to the facility at the facility’s 
request to assist the facility in maintaining records. 

(d)  The department shall provide to facilities listed in Subsection (a) 
information regarding inspections, including who may inspect a facility and 
the purpose of each type of inspection. 

§42.04425.  Inspection Information Database. 

(a)  If feasible using available information systems, the department 
shall establish a computerized database containing relevant inspection 
information on licensed day-care centers, licensed group day-care homes, 
and registered family homes from other state agencies and political 
subdivisions of the state. 

(b)  The department shall make the data collected by the department 
available to another state agency or political subdivision of the state for 
the purpose of administering programs or enforcing laws within the 
jurisdiction of that agency or subdivision.  If feasible using available 
information systems, the department shall make the data directly available 
to the Department of State Health Services, the Department of Aging and 
Disability Services, and the Texas Workforce Commission through 
electronic information systems.  The department, the Department of State 
Health Services, the Department of Aging and Disability Services, and the 
Texas Workforce Commission shall jointly plan the development of child-
care inspection databases that, to the extent feasible, are similar in their 
design and architecture to promote the sharing of data. 

(c)  The department may provide inspection data on licensed day-
care centers, licensed group day-care homes, or registered family homes 
to the public if the department determines that providing inspection data 
enhances consumer choice with respect to those facilities. 

§42.0443.  Coordination of Fire Safety and Sanitation Inspections. 

(a)  The department may not inspect a licensed day-care center, 
licensed group day-care home, or registered family home for compliance 
with the department’s fire safety or sanitation standards if the facility, at 
the time of the department’s inspection, provides the department with 
documentation relating to a current fire safety or sanitation inspection, as 
applicable, performed by a political subdivision of this state that indicates 
that the facility is in compliance with the applicable standards of the 
political subdivision. 

(b)  If the documentation provided under Subsection (a) indicates 
that the facility was required to take corrective action or that the political 
subdivision imposed a restriction or condition on the facility, the 
department shall determine whether the facility took the required 
corrective action or complied with the restriction or condition. 

(c)  The department may inspect a facility subject to this section for 
compliance with the department’s fire safety or sanitation standards if: 

(1)  the facility does not provide the documentation described by 
Subsection (a);  or 

(2)  the department determines that the facility did not take a 
corrective action or comply with a restriction or condition described by 
Subsection (b). 
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(d)  Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the 
department shall report to the appropriate political subdivision any 
violation of fire safety or sanitation standards observed by the department 
at a facility subject to this section. 

(e)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules necessary to 
implement this section. 

§42.04431.  Enforcement of State Law by County or Municipality.   

(a)  A municipality or a county may enforce state law and rules 
adopted under state law concerning fire safety standards at a licensed 
group day-care home or a registered family home. 

(b)  A municipality or county shall report to the department any 
violation of fire safety standards observed by the municipality or county at 
a licensed group day-care home or registered family home. 

§42.0445.  Required Background Search of Central Registry of 
Reported Cases of Child Abuse or Neglect. 

(a)  Before the department issues a license, listing, registration, or 
certification under this subchapter, the department shall search the central 
registry of reported cases of child abuse or neglect established under 
Section 261.002, Family Code, to determine whether the applicant or the 
owner or an employee of the facility or family home is listed in the registry 
as a person who abused or neglected a child. 

(b)  The executive commissioner  may adopt rules to implement this 
section. 

§42.0446.  Removal of Certain Investigation Information From 
Internet Website. 

The executive commissioner shall adopt rules providing a procedure by 
which the department removes from the department’s Internet website 
information with respect to a child-care facility or registered family home 
that relates to an anonymous complaint alleging that the facility or family 
home failed to comply with the department’s minimum standards if, at the 
conclusion of an investigation, the department determines that the 
complaint is false or lacks factual foundation. 

§42.0447.  False Report;  Criminal Penalty. 

(a)  A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or 
intentionally files a complaint alleging that a child-care facility or registered 
family home failed to comply with the department’s minimum standards 
and the person knows the allegation is false or lacks factual foundation. 

(b)  An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor unless 
it is shown on the trial of the offense that the person has previously been 
convicted under this section, in which case the offense is a state jail 
felony. 

§42.0448.  Notification of Family Violence Calls. 

The department shall notify a child-placing agency of each family violence 
report the department receives under Article 5.05, Code of Criminal 
Procedure, that: 

(1)  occurred at an agency foster home verified by the child-placing 
agency or a continuum-of-care residential operation that includes a child-
placing agency; or 

(2)  involves a person who resides at an agency foster home. 

§42.0449.  Required Actions After Notice of Family Violence Call. 

The executive commissioner shall adopt rules specifying the actions that 
the department, a child-placing agency, and a continuum-of-care 
residential operation that includes a child-placing agency shall take after 
receiving notice of a family violence report under Article 5.05, Code of 
Criminal Procedure, or Section 42.0448 to ensure the health, safety, and 
welfare of each child residing in the verified agency foster home. 

§42.045.  Records. 

(a)  A person who operates a licensed or certified facility shall 
maintain individual child development records, individual health records, 
statistical records, and complete financial records. 

(b)  A person who provides adoption services under a license to 
operate a child-placing agency shall furnish information required by the 
department to determine whether adoption related income and 
disbursements are reasonable, appropriate, and in compliance with the 
department’s minimum standards. 

(c)  If a child-placing agency terminates operation as a child-placing 
agency, it shall, after giving notice to the department, transfer its files and 
records concerning adopted children, their biological families, and their 
adoptive families to the vital statistics unit of the Department of State 
Health Services or, after giving notice to the vital statistics unit, to a facility 
licensed by the department to place children for adoption. 

(d)  A child-placing agency shall notify the department of any change 
of address for an agency foster home.  The child-placing agency shall 
notify the department of the address change within the earlier of two 
business days or 72 hours of the date the agency foster home changes its 
address. 

§42.0451.  Database of Agency Foster Homes; Information Provided 
to Department of Public Safety. 

(a)  The department shall maintain a database of agency foster 
homes including the current address for each agency foster home as 
reported to the department.  The database must be updated on a regular 
basis. 

(b)  The department shall make the database available to the 
Department of Public Safety for the purposes of Subsection (c). 

(c)  The Department of Public Safety shall include the information 
provided under Subsection (b) in the Texas Crime Information Center 
database and establish a procedure by which a peace officer or employee 
of a law enforcement agency who provides the department with a street 
address is automatically provided information as to whether the address is 
verified as an agency foster home under this chapter. 

(d)  Information provided to the Department of Public Safety under 
this section is confidential and not subject to disclosure under Chapter 
552, Government Code. 

§42.0452.  Foster Parent Rights and Responsibilities Statement. 

(a)  The department shall develop a statement that lists the rights 
and responsibilities of a foster parent in an agency foster home and a 
child-placing agency, as applicable. 

(b)  The department shall provide a written copy of the statement 
developed under Subsection (a) to each foster parent in an agency foster 
home and to each child-placing agency licensed by the department.  A 
child-placing agency shall provide a written copy of the statement 
developed under Subsection (a) to each foster parent in an agency foster 
home verified by the child-placing agency. 

§42.046.   Application for License, Listing, or Registration. 

(a)  An applicant for a license to operate a child-care facility, child-
placing agency, or continuum-of-care residential operation or for a listing 
or registration to operate a family home shall submit to the department the 
appropriate fee prescribed by Section 42.054 and a completed application 
on a form provided by the department. 

(b)  The department shall supply the applicant the application form 
and a copy of the appropriate minimum standards, if applicable. 

(c)  After receiving an application, the department shall investigate 
the applicant and the plan of care for children, if applicable. 

(d)  The department shall complete the investigation and decide on 
an application within two months after the date the department receives a 
completed application. 
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(e)  The department may deny an application under this section if the 
applicant: 

(1)  has a residential child-care facility license revoked in another 
state; or 

(2)  is barred from operating a residential child-care facility in another 
state. 

§42.0461.  Public Notice and Hearing:  Residential Child Care. 

(a)  Before the department may issue a license or certificate for the 
operation or the expansion of the capacity of a general residential 
operation, a cottage home operation, or a continuum-of-care residential 
operation that is located in a county with a population of less than 
300,000, the applicant for the license, certificate, or expansion shall, at the 
applicant’s expense: 

(1)  conduct a public hearing on the application in accordance with 
department rules after notifying the department of the date, time, and 
location of the hearing; and 

(2)  publish notice of the application in a newspaper of general 
circulation in the community in which the child-care services are proposed 
to be provided. 

(b)  The notice required by Subsection (a)(2) must be published at 
least 10 days before the date of the public hearing required by Subsection 
(a)(1) and must include: 

(1)  the name and address of the applicant; 
(2)  the address at which the child-care services are proposed to be 

provided; 
(3)  the date, time, and location of the public hearing; 
(4)  the name, address, and telephone number of the department as 

the licensing authority;  and 
(5)  a statement informing the public that a person may submit 

written comments to the department concerning the application instead of 
or in addition to appearing at the public hearing. 

(c)  The department shall require a representative of the department 
to attend the public hearing in an official capacity for the purpose of 
receiving public comments on the application. 

(d)  Before issuing a license or certificate described by Subsection 
(a), the department shall consider written information provided by an 
interested party directly to the department's representative at the public 
hearing concerning: 

(1)  the amount of local resources available to support children 
proposed to be served by the applicant; 

(2)  the impact of the proposed child-care services on the ratio in the 
local school district of students enrolled in a special education program to 
students enrolled in a regular education program and the effect, if any, on 
the children proposed to be served by the applicant;  and 

(3)  the impact of the proposed child-care services on the community 
and the effect on opportunities for social interaction for the children 
proposed to be served by the applicant. 

(e)  Based on the written information provided to the department's 
representative at the public hearing, the department may deny the 
application if the department determines that: 

(1)  the community has insufficient resources to support children 
proposed to be served by the applicant; 

(2)  granting the application would significantly increase the ratio in 
the local school district of students enrolled in a special education 
program to students enrolled in a regular education program and the 
increase would adversely affect the children proposed to be served by the 
applicant;  or 

(3)  granting the application would have a significant adverse impact 
on the community and would limit opportunities for social interaction for 
the children proposed to be served by the applicant. 

§42.0462.  Waiver of Notice and Hearing Requirements. 

To protect the safety and well-being of residents and employees of a 
general residential operation that provides comprehensive residential 

services to children who are victims of trafficking, the department shall 
waive the notice and hearing requirements imposed under Section 
42.0461 for an applicant who submits to the department an application to 
provide trafficking victim services at the applicants general residential 
operation. 

§42.0463.  Expansion of Capacity.   
         (a)  Notwithstanding the limitations established by Section 42.002, 
the department may: 
         (1)  develop, by rule, criteria to determine when it may be 
appropriate to exclude children who are related to a caretaker in 
determining a residential child-care facility's total capacity; and 
         (2)  issue an exception in accordance with department rules allowing 
an agency foster home, cottage family home, or specialized child-care 
home to expand its capacity and care for not more than eight children. 
         (b)  The department may include children who are related to a 
caretaker when determining under Subsection (a)(1) whether a residential 
child-care facility complies with the standards relating to total capacity or 
child-to-caregiver ratios for the facility. 

§42.047.  Consultations. 

(a)  The department shall offer consultation to potential applicants, 
applicants, and license, listing, registration, and certification holders about 
meeting and maintaining standards for licensing, listing, registration, and 
certification and achieving programs of excellence in child care. 

(b)  The department shall offer consultation to prospective and actual 
users of facilities or homes. 

§42.048.  Licensing. 

(a)  The department shall issue a license after determining that an 
applicant has satisfied all requirements. 

(b)  When issuing a license, the department may impose restrictions 
on a facility, including the number of children to be served and the type of 
children to be served. 

(c)  The department may grant a variance of an individual standard 
set forth in the applicable standards for good and just cause. 

(d)  A license holder must display a license issued under this chapter 
in a prominent place at the facility. 

(e)  A license issued under this chapter is not transferable and 
applies only to the operator and facility location stated in the license 
application.  Except as provided by this subsection, a change in location 
or ownership automatically revokes a license.  A change in location of a 
child-placing agency does not automatically revoke the license to operate 
the child-placing agency. A residential child-care facility operating under 
the license of a continuum-of-care residential operation that changes 
location may not continue to operate under that license unless the 
department approves the new location after the continuum-of-care 
residential operation meets all requirements related to the new location. 

(f)  A license must be issued if the department determines that a 
facility meets all requirements.  The evaluation shall be based on one or 
more visits to the facility and a review of required forms and records.  A 
license is valid until the license expires, is revoked, or is surrendered. 

§42.049.  Liability Insurance Required. 

(a)  A license holder shall maintain liability insurance coverage in the 
amount of $300,000 for each occurrence of negligence.  An insurance 
policy or contract required under this section must cover injury to a child 
that occurs while the child is on the premises of the license holder or in 
the care of the license holder. 

(b)  A license holder shall file with the department a certificate or 
other evidence from an insurance company showing that the license 
holder has an unexpired and uncancelled insurance policy or contract that 
meets the requirements of this section. 
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(c)  Should the license holder for financial reasons or for lack of 
availability of an underwriter willing to issue a policy be unable to secure 
the insurance required under Subsection (a) or should the policy limits be 
exhausted, the license holder shall notify the parent or a person standing 
in parental relationship to each child for whom the license holder provides 
care a written notice that the liability coverage is not provided and there 
will not be a ground for suspension or revocation of the license holder’s 
license under this chapter.  The license holder shall also notify the 
department that the coverage is not provided and provide the reason for 
same.  In no case shall the inability to secure coverage serve to indemnify 
the license holder for damages due to negligence. 

(d)  The insurance policy or contract shall be maintained at all times 
in an amount as required by this section.  Failure by a license holder to 
renew the policy or contract or to maintain the policy or contract in the 
required amount is a ground for suspension or revocation of the license 
holder’s license under this chapter. 

(e)  This section does not apply to a group day-care home or a listed 
or registered family home. 

§42.050.  License Renewal. 

(a)  A license holder may apply for renewal of a license in 
compliance with the requirements of this chapter and department rules. 

(b)  The application for renewal of a license must be completed and 
decided on by the department before the expiration of the license under 
which a facility is operating. 

(c)  The department shall evaluate the application for renewal of a 
license to determine if all licensing requirements are met.  The evaluation 
may include a specified number of visits to the facility and must include a 
review of all required forms and records. 

(d)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules governing the 
license renewal process for all licenses issued under this chapter.  The 
rules must include: 

(1)  renewal periods; 
(2)  a process for staggered renewals; 
(3)  a process for resolving a late application for renewal; 
(4)  expiration dates; and 
(5)  conditions for renewal. 

§42.051.  Initial License. 

(a)  The department shall issue an initial license when a facility’s 
plans meet the department’s licensing requirements and one of the 
following situations exists: 

(1)  the facility is not currently operating; 
(2)  the facility has relocated and has made changes in the type of 

child-care service it provides; or 
(3)  there is a change in ownership of the facility resulting in changes 

in policy and procedure or in the staff who have direct contact with the 
children. 

(b)  An initial license is valid for six months from the date it is issued 
and may be renewed for an additional six months. 

§42.052.  Certification, Listing, and Registration. 

(a)  A state-operated child-care facility or child-placing agency must 
receive certification of approval from the department.  The certification of 
approval remains valid until the certification expires, is revoked, or is 
surrendered. 

(b)  To be certified, a facility must comply with the department’s rules 
and standards and any provisions of this chapter that apply to a licensed 
facility of the same category.  The operator of a certified facility must 
display the certification in a prominent place at the facility. 

(c)  A family home that provides care for compensation for three or 
fewer children, excluding children who are related to the caretaker, shall 
list with the department if the home provides regular care in the 
caretaker’s own residence.  The home may register with the department. 

(d)  A family home that provides care for four or more children, 
excluding children who are related to the caretaker, shall register with the 
department.  A family home that provides care exclusively for any number 
of children who are related to the caretaker is not required to be listed or 
registered with the department. 

(e)  A registration remains valid until the registration expires, is 
revoked, or is surrendered.  The operator of a registered home must 
display the registration in a prominent place at the home. 

(e-1)  A listing remains valid until the listing is revoked or 
surrendered. 

(f)  To remain listed or registered with the department, a family home 
must comply with the department’s rules and standards, if applicable, and 
any provision of this chapter that applies to a listed or registered family 
home. 

(f-1)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules governing the 
certification and registration renewal process for all certifications and 
registrations issued under this chapter.  The rules must include: 

(1)  renewal periods; 
(2)  a process for staggered renewals; 
(3)  a process for resolving a late application for renewal; 
(4)  expiration dates; and 
(5)  conditions for renewal. 
(g)  The certification requirements of this section do not apply to a 

Texas Juvenile Justice Department facility, or a facility providing services 
solely for the Texas Juvenile Justice Department. 

(h)  The certification requirements of this section do not apply to a 
juvenile detention facility certified under Section 51.12, Family Code, or a 
juvenile correctional facility certified under Section 51.125, Family Code. 

(i)  The department shall provide to a listed family home a copy of 
the listing.  A listing must contain a provision that states:  “THIS HOME IS 
A LISTED FAMILY HOME.  IT IS NOT LICENSED OR REGISTERED 
WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES.  
IT HAS NOT BEEN INSPECTED AND WILL NOT BE INSPECTED.”  The 
operator of a listed home is not required to display the listing in a 
prominent place at the home but shall make the listing available for 
examination.  The executive commissioner by rule shall provide for a 
sufficient period to allow operators of family homes to comply with the 
listing requirement of this section. 

(j)  The operator of a listed family home shall undergo initial and 
subsequent background and criminal history checks required under 
Section 42.056. If the operator of a listed family home fails to submit the 
information required by Section 42.056 for a subsequent background and 
criminal history check, the department shall automatically: 

(1)  suspend the home’s listing until the required information is 
submitted; and 

(2)  revoke the home’s listing if the required information is not 
submitted within six months after the date the automatic suspension 
begins. 

(j-1)  A suspension or revocation under Subsection (j) is not a 
suspension or revocation under Section 42.072. 

(k)  The department shall issue a listing or registration to a family 
home, as appropriate, in both English and Spanish when the most recent 
federal census shows that more than one-half of the population in a 
municipality or in a commissioners precinct in a county in which the family 
home is located is of Hispanic origin or Spanish-speaking. 

§42.0521.  Deposit of Fees. 

The fees authorized by this chapter and received by the department shall 
be deposited in the general revenue fund. 

§42.0522.  Public Advertising of Family Homes. 

(a)  A family home may not place a public advertisement that uses 
the title “registered family home” or any variation of that phrase unless the 
home is registered under this chapter.  Any public advertisement for a 
registered family home that uses the title “registered family home” must 
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contain a provision in bold type stating:  “THIS HOME IS REGISTERED 
WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES 
BUT IS NOT LICENSED OR REGULARLY INSPECTED.” 

(b)  A family home may not place a public advertisement that uses 
the title “listed family home” or any variation of that phrase unless the 
home is listed as provided by this chapter.  Any public advertisement for a 
listed family home that uses the title “listed family home” must contain a 
provision in bold type stating:  “THIS HOME IS A LISTED FAMILY HOME.  
IT IS NOT LICENSED OR REGISTERED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF 
FAMILY AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES.  IT HAS NOT BEEN 
INSPECTED AND WILL NOT BE INSPECTED.” 

§42.0523.  Listing of Relative Child-Care Providers. 

(a)  A child-care provider who only provides child care under Chapter 
313, Labor Code, to children related to the provider may list the provider’s 
home as a family home. 

(b)  Before the department may list a child-care provider’s home 
under this section, in addition to conducting the background or criminal 
history check required under Section 42.056, the department must search 
the central database of sex offender registration records maintained by 
the Department of Public Safety under Chapter 62, Code of Criminal 
Procedure, to determine whether the provider is listed in the registry as a 
sex offender. 

(c)  The address of a family home listed under this section is the 
address of the child-care provider’s home, regardless of whether the child 
care is provided in the provider’s home or in the child’s home. 

(d)  A relative child-care provider’s home listed as a family home 
under this section is exempt from the health and safety requirements of 45 
C.F.R. Section 98.41(a). 

§42.053.  Agency Foster Homes. 

(a)  An agency foster home is considered part of the child-placing 
agency that operates the agency foster home for purposes of licensing. 

(b)  The operator of a licensed agency shall display a copy of the 
license in a prominent place in the agency foster home used by the 
agency. 

(c)  An agency foster home shall comply with all provisions of this 
chapter and all department rules and standards that apply to a child-care 
facility caring for a similar number of children for a similar number of hours 
each day. 

(d)  The department shall revoke or suspend the license of a child-
placing agency if an agency foster home operated by the licensed agency 
fails to comply with Subsection (c). 

(e)  Before verifying an agency foster home, a child-placing agency 
may issue a provisional verification to the home.  The executive 
commissioner by rule may establish the criteria for a child-placing agency 
to issue a provisional verification to a prospective agency foster home. 

(f)  If a child-placing agency under contract with the division to 
provide services as an integrated care coordinator places children with 
caregivers described by Subchapter I, Chapter 264, Family Code, those 
caregivers are not considered a part of the child-placing agency for 
purposes of licensing. 

§42.0531.  Secure Agency Foster Homes. 

(a)  The commissioner's court of a county or governing body of a 
municipality may contract with a child-placing agency to verify a secure 
agency foster home to provide a safe and therapeutic environment 
tailored to the needs of children who are victims of trafficking. 

(b)  A child-placing agency may not verify a secure agency foster 
home to provide services under this section unless the child-placing 
agency holds a license issued under this chapter that authorizes the 
agency to provide services to victims of trafficking in accordance with 
department standards adopted under this chapter for child-placing 
agencies. 

(c)  A secure agency foster home verified under this section must 
provide: 

(1)  mental health and other services specifically designed to assist 
children who are victims of trafficking under Section 20A.02 or 20A.03, 
Penal Code, including: 

(A)  victim and family counseling; 
(B)  behavioral health care; 
(C)  treatment and intervention for sexual assault; 
(D)  education tailored to the child's needs; 
(E)  life skills training; 
(F)  mentoring; and 
(G)  substance abuse screening and treatment as needed; 
(2)  individualized services based on trauma endured by a child, as 

determined through comprehensive assessments of the service needs of 
the child; 

(3)  24-hour services; and 
(4)  appropriate security through facility design, hardware, 

technology, and staffing. 

§42.0535.  Required Information for Verification. 

(a)  A child-placing agency that seeks to verify an agency foster 
home shall request background information about the agency foster home 
from a child-placing agency that has previously verified the home as an 
agency foster home or agency foster group home. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Section 261.201, Family Code, a child-placing 
agency that has verified an agency foster home or an agency foster group 
home is required to release to another child-placing agency background 
information requested under Subsection (a). 

(c)  A child-placing agency that releases background information 
under this section is immune from civil and criminal liability for the release 
of the information. 

(d)  For purposes of this section, background information means the 
home study under which the agency foster home or agency foster group 
home was verified by the previous child-placing agency and any record of 
noncompliance with state minimum standards received and the resolution 
of any such noncompliance by the previous child-placing agency. 

(e)  The executive commissioner by rule shall develop a process by 
which a child-placing agency shall report to the department: 

(1)  the name of any agency foster home that has been closed for 
any reason, including a voluntary closure; 

(2)  information regarding the reasons for the closure of the agency 
foster home; and 

(3)  the name and other contact information of a person who may be 
contacted by another child-placing agency to obtain the records relating to 
the closed agency foster home that are required to be maintained and 
made available under this section. 

(f)  Information gathered under Subsection (e) must be made 
available to child-placing agencies through a searchable database 
maintained by the department. 

§42.0536.  Transfer of Agency Foster Home. 

(a)  An agency foster home that is verified by a child-placing agency 
may transfer to another child-placing agency only if, before the date of the 
transfer, the agency foster home notifies the child-placing agency to which 
the agency foster home is transferring of each licensing violation for which 
the agency foster home has been cited by the department during the 
preceding three years. 

(b)  The child-placing agency to which the agency foster home is 
transferring shall submit a written request for transfer to the child-placing 
agency that verified the agency foster home. 

(c)  Not later than the 10th day after the date the child-placing 
agency receives a request for transfer under Subsection (b), the child-
placing agency shall provide the child-placing agency that submitted the 
request a copy of any of the following documents regarding the agency 
foster home: 
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(1)  a corrective action plan; 
(2)  an annual development plan; or 
(3)  a description of any imposed or potential service limitation. 
(d)  The department caseworker for each child placed in the agency 

foster home may conduct a review meeting to determine whether the 
transfer of the agency foster home is in the best interest of each child in 
the home on the request of: 

(1)  the child-placing agency to which the agency foster home is 
transferring; 

(2)  the child-placing agency that verified the agency foster home; 
(3)  the agency foster home; or 
(4)  the caseworker. 
(e)  After a review meeting, the caseworker shall determine whether 

each child placed in the agency foster home shall: 
(1)  stay in the agency foster home after the agency foster home is 

transferred to the new child-placing agency; or 
(2)  be removed from the agency foster home before the agency 

foster home is transferred to the new child-placing agency. 

§42.0537.  Caregiver Training Requirement 

(a)  The department shall include a provision in each contract with a 
child-placing agency with whom children in the managing conservatorship 
of the department are placed that requires the child-placing agency to 
provide at least 35 hours of competency-based, preservice training to a 
potential caregiver before the child-placing agency verifies or approves 
the caregiver as a foster or adoptive home. 

(b) The department shall adopt policies to endure that each potential 
caregiver receives at least 35 hours of competency-based, preservice 
training before the department verifies or approves the caregiver as a 
foster or adoptive home. 

(c) The training required by this section does not apply to an 
individual who has been designated as a kinship caregiver and who is 
pursuing verification or licensure as a foster parent or approval as an 
adoptive parent.  

§42.054.  Fees. 

(a)  The department shall charge an applicant a nonrefundable 
application fee for an initial license to operate a child-care facility, a child-
placing agency, or a continuum-of-care residential operation. 

(b)  The department shall charge each child-care facility a fee for an 
initial license.  The department shall charge each child-placing agency 
and continuum-of-care residential operation a fee for an initial license. 

(c)  The department shall charge each licensed child-care facility an 
annual license fee.  The fee is due on the date on which the department 
issues the child-care facility’s initial license and on the anniversary of that 
date. 

(d)  The department shall charge each licensed child-placing agency 
and continuum-of-care residential operation an annual license fee. The 
fee is due on the date on which the department issues the initial license to 
the child-placing agency or continuum-of-care residential operation and on 
the anniversary of that date. 

(e)  The department shall charge each family home that is listed or 
registered with the department an annual fee.  The fee is due on the date 
on which the department initially lists or registers the home and on the 
anniversary of that date. 

(f)  If a facility, agency, or home fails to pay the annual fee when 
due, the license, listing, or registration, as appropriate, is automatically 
suspended until the fee is paid. The license, listing, or registration shall be 
revoked if the fee is not paid within six months after the date the automatic 
suspension begins. A suspension or revocation under this subsection is 
not a suspension or revocation under Section 42.072. 

(g)  The provisions of Subsections (b) through (f) do not apply to: 
(1)   nonprofit facilities regulated under this chapter that provided 24-

hour care for children in the managing conservatorship of the department 

during the 12-month period immediately preceding the anniversary date of 
the facility’s license;   

(2)  facilities operated by a nonprofit corporation or foundation that 
provides 24-hour residential care and does not charge for the care 
provided; or 

(3) a family home listed under Section 42.0523 in which the relative 
child-care provider cares for the child in the child’s own home. 

(h)  The executive commissioner by rule shall set fees under this 
section. 

§42.055.  Sign Posting. 

(a)  Each child-care facility shall post in a location that is 
conspicuous to all employees and customers a sign that includes: 

(1)  a description of the provisions of the Family Code relating to the 
duty to report child abuse or neglect; 

(2)  a description of the penalties for violating the reporting 
provisions of the Family Code;  and 

(3)  a brief description of sudden infant death syndrome, shaken-
baby syndrome, and childhood diabetes and methods for preventing those 
phenomena. 

(a-1)  A licensed day-care center, licensed group day-care home, or 
registered family home subject to Section 42.0423 shall include in the sign 
required under Subsection (a) a description of how to access a listing of 
unsafe children’s products on the United States Consumer Product Safety 
Commission’s Internet website or through the department’s public Internet 
website. 

(b)  The executive commissioner by rule shall determine the design, 
size, and wording of the sign. 

(c)  The department shall provide the sign to each child-care facility 
without charge. 

(d)  A person who operates a child-care facility commits an offense if 
the department provides a sign to the facility as provided by this section 
and the person intentionally fails to display the sign in the facility as 
prescribed by this section.  An offense under this subsection is a Class C 
misdemeanor. 

§42.0551.  Posting of Employee List. 

(a)  Each day-care center, group day-care home, and family home 
shall post a list of all current employees at the center or home in 
accordance with rules adopted by the executive commissioner. 

(b)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules regarding the 
size, wording, and placement of the list required under this section. 

§42.056.  Required Background and Criminal History Checks; 
Criminal Penalties. 

(a)  The director, owner, or operator of a facility or family home shall 
submit to the department the names of the following individuals, who must 
have background checks as described by this section and in accordance 
with rules adopted by the executive commissioner: 

(1)  the director, owner, and operator of the facility, agency, or home; 
(2)  each person employed at the facility, agency, or home; 
(3)  each prospective employee of the facility, agency, or home; 
(4)  each person who provides care or supervision to children in the 

care of the facility, agency, or home under a contract with the facility, 
agency, or home; 

(5) each current or prospective foster parent providing foster care 
through a child-placing agency; 

(6)  each prospective adoptive parent seeking to adopt through a 
child-placing agency; 

(7)  each person at least 14 years of age, other than a client in care, 
who: 

(A)  is counted in child-to-caregiver ratios in accordance with the 
minimum standards of the department; 
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(B)  will reside in a prospective adoptive home if the adoption is 
through a child-placing agency; 

(C)  has unsupervised access to children in care at the facility or 
family home; or 

(D)  resides in the facility or family home; or 
(8)  each person 14 years of age or older, other than a client in care, 

who will regularly or frequently be staying or working at a facility, family 
home, or prospective adoptive home, while children are being provided 
care. 

(a-1)  Notwithstanding Subsection (a), the director, owner, or 
operator of a residential child-care facility is not required to submit to the 
department the information required under that subsection for use in 
conducting a background and criminal history check on a parent or other 
relative of a child who is a client in care at the facility if: 

(1)  the department has on file for the parent or relative a 
background and criminal history check; and 

(2)  the background and criminal history check was conducted within 
the two-year period preceding the date the parent or relative visits the 
client at the facility. 

(a-2)  In accordance with rules adopted by the executive 
commissioner, a person shall submit a complete set of fingerprints if: 

(1) the person is required to have a background check under 
Subsections (a)(1) – (7);  

(2) the person resided in another state during the five years 
preceding the date the person’s name was required to be submitted under 
Subsection (a); or  

(3) the director, owner, or operator has reason to suspect that the 
person has a criminal history in another state.  

(a-3) Subsection (a-2)(1) does not apply to a family home that is 
subject to regulation by the department under Section 42.0523. 

(a-4)  In accordance with rules adopted by the executive 
commissioner, the director, owner, or operator of a facility or listed or 
registered family home shall submit a complete set of fingerprints of each 
person whose name is required to be submitted by the director, owner, or 
operator under Subsection (a) if: 

(1)  the person resided in another state during the five years 
preceding the date the person’s name was required to be submitted under 
Subsection (a); or 

(2)  the director, owner, or operator has reason to suspect that the 
person has a criminal history in another state. 

(a-5)  The rules adopted by the executive commissioner under 
Subsection (a-2): 

(1)  must require that the fingerprints be submitted in a form and of a 
quality acceptable to the Department of Public Safety and the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation for conducting a criminal history check; 

(2)  may require that the fingerprints be submitted electronically 
through an applicant fingerprinting service center; and 

(3)  may allow the department to waive the submission of fingerprints 
required by this section if: 

(A)  the person for whom the submission is required has: 
(i)  a fingerprint-based criminal history record check on file with the 

department; or 
(ii)  a fingerprint-based criminal history clearinghouse record, as 

provided by Section 411.0845, Government Code, that is accessible to the 
department through the Department of Public Safety; and 

(B)  the department has an active subscription to the Federal Bureau 
of Investigation’s national rap back service for the person for whom the 
submission is required. 

(b)  The department shall conduct background checks using: 
(1)  the information provided under Subsection (a); 
(2)  the information made available by the Department of Public 

Safety under Section 411.114, Government Code, or by the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation or other criminal justice agency under Section 
411.087, Government Code;  

(3)  the department’s records of reported abuse and neglect; and 

(4) any other registry, repository, or database required by federal 
law. 

(b-1)  For each person whose fingerprints are submitted under 
Subsection (a-2), the department shall conduct a state and Federal 
Bureau of Investigation criminal history check by: 

(1)  submitting the person’s fingerprints, or causing the fingerprints to 
be submitted electronically, to the Department of Public Safety for the 
purpose of conducting a state and federal criminal history check; and 

(2)  using the resulting information made available by that 
department under Section 411.114, Government Code, and by the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation and any other criminal justice agency 
under Section 411.087, Government Code. 

(b-2) For each person required to have a background check under 
Subsection (a), but who is not required to submit fingerprints for a Federal 
Bureau of Investigations criminal history check under Subsection (a-2): 

(1) the person shall have a name-based check instead of a 
fingerprint check; and 

(2) the director, owner, or operator of the child-care facility, child-
placing agency, or family home shall submit the name of the person each 
24 months after last submitting the persons’ name to the department for 
use in conducting a background check.  

(c)  The executive commissioner by rule shall require a child-care 
facility, child-placing agency, or listed or registered family home to pay to 
the department a fee in an amount not to exceed the administrative costs 
the department incurs in conducting a background and criminal history 
check under this section. 

(f)  As part of a background check under this section, the department 
shall provide any relevant information available in the department’s 
records regarding a person’s previous employment in a facility or family 
home to the person submitting the request. 

(g)  Except as otherwise provided by this subsection, a person 
whose name is submitted under Subsection (a) may not provide direct 
care or have direct access to a child in a facility or family home before the 
person’s background check is completed.  A person may be employed at 
a facility or family home and may provide direct care or have direct access 
to a child in the facility or family home before the person’s criminal history 
check under Subsection (b-1) is completed if: 

(1)  the facility or family home is experiencing a staff shortage; 
(2)  the Federal Bureau of Investigations fingerprint check and the 

background check using the department’s records of reported abuse and 
neglect have been completed under Subsection (b), and the resulting 
information does not preclude the person from being present at the facility 
or family home; and 

(3)  the person does not have unsupervised access to any child in 
care. 

(h)  If the results of a criminal history check under Subsection (b-1) 
for a person employed by a facility or family home during a staffing 
shortage as authorized by Subsection (g) preclude the person from being 
present at the facility or family home, the director, owner, or operator of 
the facility or family home shall immediately terminate the person’s 
employment. 

(i)  A director, owner, or operator of a facility or family home commits 
an offense if the director, owner, or operator knowingly: 

(1)  fails to submit to the department information about a person as 
required by this section and department rules for use in conducting 
background and criminal history checks with respect to the person; and 

(2)  employs the person at the facility or family home or otherwise 
allows the person to regularly or frequently stay or work at the facility or 
family home while children are being provided care. 

(j)  A director, owner, or operator of a facility or family home commits 
an offense if, after the date the director, owner, or operator receives notice 
from the department that, based on the results of a person’s background 
or criminal history check, the person is precluded from being present at 
the facility or family home, the director, owner, or operator knowingly: 

(1)  employs the person at the facility or family home; or 
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(2)  otherwise allows the person to regularly or frequently stay or 
work at the facility or family home while children are being provided care. 

(k)  An offense under Subsection (i) or (j) is a Class B misdemeanor. 
(l)  In accordance with rules adopted by the executive commissioner, 

a person that contracts to provide one or more substitute employees to a 
facility or family home must submit to the department for use in conducting 
background and criminal history checks the name of each substitute 
employee. Before a substitute employee may be present at a facility or 
family home, the employee must meet the same requirements under this 
section as an employee present at the facility or family home who 
performs similar duties. The director, owner, or operator of a facility or 
family home must verify with the department that a substitute employee is 
eligible to be present at the facility or family home before allowing the 
employee to begin work. 

§42.0561.  Information Relating to Family Violence Reports. 

Before a child-placing agency may issue a verification certificate for an 
agency foster home, the child-placing agency must obtain information 
relating to each family violence report at the applicant’s residence to which 
a law enforcement agency responded during the 12 months preceding the 
date of the application.  The applicant shall provide the information on a 
form prescribed by the department. 

§42.057.  Drug Testing. 

(a)  Each residential child-care facility shall establish a drug testing 
policy for employees.  A residential child-care facility may adopt the model 
employee drug testing policy adopted by the executive commissioner 
under Subsection (b) or may use another employee drug testing policy 
approved by the executive commissioner. 

(b)  The executive commissioner by rule shall adopt a model 
employee drug testing policy for use by a residential child-care 
facility.  The policy must be designed to ensure the safety of resident 
children through appropriate drug testing of employees while protecting 
the rights of employees.  The model policy must require: 

(1)  preemployment drug testing; 
(2)  random, unannounced drug testing of each employee who has 

direct contact with a child in the care of the facility; 
(3)  drug testing of an employee against whom there is an allegation 

of drug abuse; and 
(4)  drug testing of an employee whom the department is 

investigating for the abuse or neglect of a child in the care of the facility, if 
the allegation of abuse or neglect includes information that provides good 
cause to suspect drug abuse. 

(c)  The department shall require a drug test of a person who directly 
cares for or has access to a child in a residential child-care facility within 
24 hours after the department receives notice of an allegation that the 
person has abused drugs. 

(d)  An employee may not provide direct care or have direct access 
to a child in a residential child-care facility before completion of the 
employee’s initial drug test. 

(e)  A residential child-care facility shall pay any fee or cost 
associated with performing the drug test for an employee. 

§42.058.  Competitive Bidding or Advertising Rules. 

(a)  The executive commissioner may not adopt rules restricting 
competitive bidding or advertising by a license holder or registration holder 
except to prohibit false, misleading, or deceptive practices or to prevent a 
violation of this chapter. 

(b)  Rules to prohibit false, misleading, or deceptive practices may 
not include a rule that: 

(1)  restricts the use of any medium for advertising; 
(2)  restricts the use of a license holder’s or registration holder’s 

personal appearance or voice in an advertisement; 

(3)  relates to the size or duration of an advertisement by the license 
holder or registration holder;  or 

(4)  restricts the license holder’s or registration holder’s 
advertisement under a trade name. 

§42.059.  Required Affidavit for Applicants for Employment With 
Facility or Registered Family Home. 

(a)  An applicant for temporary or permanent employment with a 
licensed facility or registered family home whose employment or potential 
employment with the facility or home involves direct interactions with or 
the opportunity to interact and associate with children must execute and 
submit the following affidavit with the application for employment: 

STATE OF _____________ 
COUNTY OF ____________ 
I swear or affirm under penalty of perjury that I do not now and I 

have not at any time, either as an adult or as a juvenile: 
1. Been convicted of; 
2. Pleaded guilty to (whether or not resulting in a conviction); 
3. Pleaded nolo contendere or no contest to; 
4. Admitted; 
5. Had any judgment or order rendered against me (whether by 

default or otherwise); 
6. Entered into any settlement of an action or claim of; 
7. Had any license, certification, employment, or volunteer position 

suspended, revoked, terminated, or adversely affected because of; 
8. Resigned under threat of termination of employment or 

volunteerism for; 
9. Had a report of child abuse or neglect made and substantiated 

against me for;  or 
10. Have any pending criminal charges against me in this or any 

other jurisdiction for; 
Any conduct, matter, or thing (irrespective of formal name thereof) 

constituting or involving (whether under criminal or civil law of any 
jurisdiction): 

1. Any felony; 
2. Rape or other sexual assault; 
3. Physical, sexual, emotional abuse and/or neglect of a minor; 
4. Incest; 
5. Exploitation, including sexual, of a minor; 
6. Sexual misconduct with a minor; 
7. Molestation of a child; 
8. Lewdness or indecent exposure; 
9. Lewd and lascivious behavior; 
10. Obscene or pornographic literature, photographs, or videos; 
11. Assault, battery, or any violent offense involving a minor; 
12. Endangerment of a child; 
13. Any misdemeanor or other offense classification involving a 

minor or to which a minor was a witness; 
14. Unfitness as a parent or custodian; 
15. Removing children from a state or concealing children in 

violation of a court order; 
16. Restrictions or limitations on contact or visitation with children or 

minors resulting from a court order protecting a child or minor from abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation;  or 

17. Any type of child abduction. 
Except the following (list all incidents, location, description, and date) 

(if none, write NONE) 
Signed ________________________ 
Date _______________. 
Subscribed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me this ________ day 

of ________________,____________. 
Signature of notarial officer 

____________________________________. 
(seal, if any, of notarial officer) 
My commission expires:  ____________ 
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(b)  The failure or refusal of the applicant to sign or provide the 
affidavit constitutes good cause for refusal to hire the applicant. 

§42.060.  Carbon Monoxide Detectors. 

(a)  In this section, “carbon monoxide detector” means a device that 
detects and sounds an alarm to indicate the presence of a harmful level of 
carbon monoxide gas. 

(b)  Except as provided by Subsection (d), each day-care center, 
group day-care home, and family home must be equipped with carbon 
monoxide detectors in accordance with department rules. 

(c)  The executive commissioner by rule shall prescribe 
requirements regarding the placement, installation, and number of carbon 
monoxide detectors and maintenance procedures for those detectors. 

(d)  A day-care center is exempt from the carbon monoxide detector 
requirements prescribed by this section if the day-care center is located in 
a school facility that is subject to the school facility standards adopted by 
the commissioner of education under Section 46.008, Education Code, or 
similar safety standards adopted by the board of a local school district. 

§42.062.  Certain Employment and Service Prohibited. 

A person may not be employed as a controlling person or serve in that 
capacity in a facility or family home if the person is not eligible to receive a 
license or certification for the operation of a facility or family home under 
Section 42.072(g) or who has been denied a license under Section 42.046 
for a substantive reason. 

§42.063.  Reporting of Incidents and Violations. 

(a)  In this section, “serious incident” means a suspected or actual 
incident that threatens or impairs the basic health, safety, or well-being of 
a child.  The term includes: 

(1)  the arrest, abuse, neglect, exploitation, running away, attempted 
suicide, or death of a child; 

(2)  a critical injury of a child; and 
(3)  an illness of a child that requires hospitalization. 
(b)  A person licensed under this chapter shall report to the 

department each serious incident involving a child who receives services 
from the person, regardless of whether the department is the managing 
conservator of the child. 

(c)  An employee of a person described by Subsection (b) shall 
report suspected abuse or neglect directly to the statewide intake system. 

(d)  An employee or volunteer of a general residential operation, 
child-placing agency, continuum-of-care residential operation, cottage 
home operation, or specialized child-care home shall report any serious 
incident directly to the department if the incident involves a child under the 
care of the operation, agency, or home. 

(e)  A foster parent shall report any serious incident directly to the 
department if the incident involves a child under the care of the parent. 

(f)  The executive commissioner by rule shall prescribe: 
(1)  procedures governing reporting required under this section; and 
(2)  the manner in which a report under this section must be 

provided. 
(g)  The department shall implement this section using existing 

appropriations. 

§42.064.  Information Regarding Gang-Free Zones. 

Each day-care center shall, in accordance with rules adopted by the 
executive commissioner, distribute to parents and guardians of children 
who attend the center information on gang-free zones and the 
consequences of engaging in organized criminal activity within those 
zones. 

§42.065.  Administering Medication.  

(a)  In this section, “medication” means a drug that may be obtained 
with or without a prescription, excluding a topical ointment obtained 
without a prescription. 

(b)  This section applies only to a day-care center, group day-care 
home, before-school or after-school program, school-age program, or 
family home regardless of whether the facility or program is licensed, 
registered, or listed. 

(c)  A director, owner, operator, caretaker, employee, or volunteer of 
a child-care facility subject to this section may not administer a medication 
to a child unless: 

(1)  the child’s parent or guardian has submitted to the child-care 
facility a signed and dated document that authorizes the facility to 
administer the medication for not longer than one year; and 

(2)  the authorized medication: 
(A)  is administered as stated on the label directions or as amended 

in writing by a practitioner, as defined by Section 551.003, Occupations 
Code; and 

(B)  is not expired. 
(d)  Notwithstanding Subsection (c)(1), a director, owner, operator, 

caretaker, employee, or volunteer of a child-care facility subject to this 
section may administer medication to a child under this section without a 
signed authorization if the child’s parent or guardian: 

(1)  submits to the child-care facility an authorization in an electronic 
format that is capable of being viewed and saved; or 

(2)  authorizes the child-care facility by telephone to administer a 
single dose of a medication. 

(e)  An authorization under Subsection (d)(1) expires on the first 
anniversary of the date the authorization is provided to the child-care 
facility. 

(f)  This section does not apply to a person that administers a 
medication to a child in a medical emergency to prevent the death or 
serious bodily injury of the child if the medication is administered as 
prescribed, directed, or intended. 

(g)  A person commits an offense if the person administers a 
medication to a child in violation of this section. If conduct constituting an 
offense under this section also constitutes an offense under a section of 
the Penal Code, the actor may be prosecuted under either section or both 
sections. 

(h)  An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor. 

§42.066.  Required Submission Of Information Requested By Court.   
A general residential operation that provides mental health treatment or 
services to a child in the managing conservatorship of the department 
shall timely submit to the court in a suit affecting the parent-child 
relationship under Subtitle E, Title 5, Family Code, all information 
requested by that court. 
 

SUBCHAPTER D. REMEDIES 

§42.0704.  Enforcement Policy. 

(a)  The executive commissioner by rule shall adopt a general 
enforcement policy that describes the department's approach to 
enforcement of this chapter. 

(b)  The enforcement policy must: 
(1)  summarize the department's general expectations in enforcing 

this chapter; 
(2)  include the methodology required by Subsection (c); and 
(3)  describe the department's plan for strengthening its enforcement 

efforts and for making objective regulatory decisions. 
(c)  As part of the enforcement policy, the department shall develop 

and implement a methodology for determining the appropriate disciplinary 
action to take against a person who violates this chapter or a department 
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rule.  The methodology must provide guidance on when to use each of the 
available tools of enforcement, including technical assistance, voluntary 
plans of action, evaluation, probation, suspension or revocation of a 
license or registration, denial of a license or registration, administrative 
penalties, and emergency suspension.  The methodology must allow the 
department to consider the circumstances of a particular case, including 
the nature and seriousness of the violation, history of previous violations, 
and aggravating and mitigating factors, in determining the appropriate 
disciplinary action. 

(d)  The department shall make the methodology described by 
Subsection (c) available to the public, including by posting the 
methodology on the department's Internet website. 

§42.0705.  Range of Penalties. 

The department shall revoke or suspend a license or registration, place on 
probation a person whose license or registration has been suspended, or 
reprimand a license holder or registration holder for a violation of this 
chapter or a department rule.  If a license or registration suspension is 
probated, the department may require the license holder or registration 
holder to: 

(1)  report regularly to the department on matters that are the basis 
of the probation; 

(2)  limit services to the areas prescribed by the department; 
(3)  continue or review professional education until the license holder 

or registration holder attains a degree of skill satisfactory to the 
department in those areas that are the basis of the probation; or 

(4)  take corrective action relating to the violation on which the 
probation is based. 

§42.071.  Suspension, Evaluation, or Probation of License or 
Registration. 

(a)  The department may suspend the license of a facility or the 
registration of a family home that has temporarily ceased operation but 
has definite plans for starting operations again within the time limits of the 
issued license or registration. 

(b)  The department may suspend a facility’s license or a family 
home’s registration for a definite period rather than deny or revoke the 
license or registration if the department finds repeated noncompliance 
with standards that do not endanger the health and safety of children.  To 
qualify for license or registration suspension under this subsection, a 
facility or family home must suspend its operations and show that 
standards can be met within the suspension period. 

(c)  If the department finds a facility or family home is in repeated 
noncompliance with standards that do not endanger the health and safety 
of children, the department may schedule the facility or family home for 
evaluation or probation rather than suspend or revoke the facility’s license 
or the family home’s registration.  The department shall provide notice to 
the facility or family home of the evaluation or probation and of the items 
of noncompliance not later than the 10th day before the evaluation or 
probation period begins.  The department shall designate a period of not 
less than 30 days during which the facility or family home will remain 
under evaluation.  During the evaluation or probation period, the facility or 
family home must correct the items that were in noncompliance and report 
the corrections to the department for approval. 

(d)  The department shall revoke the license of a facility or the 
registration of a family home that does not comply with standards at the 
end of a license or registration suspension. 

(e)  The department may suspend or revoke the license of a facility 
or the registration of a family home that does not correct items that were in 
noncompliance or that does not comply with required standards within the 
applicable evaluation or probation period. 

§42.0715.  Costs Charged to Facility or Family Home. 

The department may charge a facility or family home for reimbursement of 
the reasonable cost of services provided by the department in formulating, 
monitoring, and implementing a corrective action plan for the facility or 
family home. 

§42.072.  License, Listing, or Registration Denial, Suspension, or 
Revocation. 

(a)  The department may suspend, deny, revoke, or refuse to renew 
the license, listing, registration, or certification of approval of a facility or 
family home that does not comply with the requirements of this chapter, 
department standards and rules, or the specific terms of the license, 
listing, registration, or certification.  The department may revoke the 
probation of a person whose license, listing, or registration is suspended if 
the person violates a term of the conditions of probation. 

(b)  If the department proposes to take an action under Subsection 
(a), the person is entitled to a hearing conducted by the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings.  Proceedings for a disciplinary action are 
governed by the administrative procedure law, Chapter 2001, Government 
Code.  An action under this section, including a revocation of a person’s 
license, is a contested case as defined by Chapter 2001, Government 
Code, and is subject to judicial review under the substantial evidence rule 
in accordance with that chapter.  Rules of practice adopted by the 
executive commissioner under Section 2001.004, Government Code, 
applicable to the proceedings for a disciplinary action may not conflict with 
rules adopted by the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 

(c)  The department may not issue a license, listing, registration, or 
certification to a person whose license, listing, registration, or certification 
is revoked or whose application for a license, listing, registration, or 
certification is denied for a substantive reason under this chapter before 
the fifth anniversary of the date on which the revocation takes effect by 
department or court order or the decision to deny the application is final. 

(c-1)  A person described by Subsection (c) may not be a controlling 
person in any facility or family home during the five-year period in which 
the person is ineligible to receive a license, listing, registration, or 
certification. 

(d)  The executive commissioner by rule may provide for denial of an 
application or renewal for a licensed facility or for listing or registering a 
family home or may revoke a facility’s license or a family home’s listing or 
registration based on findings of background or criminal history as a result 
of a background or criminal history check. 

(e)  A person may continue to operate a facility or family home 
during an appeal of a license, listing, or registration revocation unless the 
operation of the facility or family home poses a risk to the health or safety 
of children.  The executive commissioner shall by rule establish the criteria 
for determining whether the operation of a facility or family home poses a 
risk to the health or safety of children.  The department shall notify the 
facility or family home of the criteria the department used to determine that 
the operation of the facility or family home poses a risk to health or safety 
and that the facility or family home may not operate.  A person who has 
been notified by the department that the facility or home may not operate 
under this section may seek injunctive relief from a district court in Travis 
County or in the county in which the facility or home is located to allow 
operation during the pendency of an appeal.  The court may grant 
injunctive relief against the department's action only if the court finds that 
the child-care operation does not pose a health or safety risk to 
children.  A court granting injunctive relief under this subsection shall have 
no other jurisdiction over an appeal of final department action unless 
conferred by Chapter 2001, Government Code. 

(f)  The department shall deny an application or renewal for listing or 
registering a family home or shall revoke a family home’s listing or 
registration if the results of a background or criminal history check 
conducted by the department under Section 42.056 show that a person 
has been convicted of an offense under Title 5  or 6,  Penal Code, or 
Chapter 43, Penal Code. 
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(g)  Notwithstanding Subsection (c), the department may refuse to 
issue a license, listing, registration, or certification to: 

(1)  a person whose license, listing, registration, or certification for a 
facility or family home was revoked by the department or by court order; 

(2)  a person who was a controlling person of a facility or family 
home  at the time conduct occurred that resulted in the revocation of the 
license, listing, registration,  or certification of the facility or family home; 

(3)  a person who voluntarily closed a facility or family home  or 
relinquished the person’s license, listing, registration, or certification after: 

(A)  the department took an action under Subsection (a) in relation to 
the facility, family home,  or person; or 

(B)  the person received notice that the department intended to take 
an action under Subsection (a) in relation to the facility, family home, or 
person; or 

(4)  a person who was a controlling person of a facility or family 
home at the time conduct occurred that resulted in the closure of the 
facility or family home or relinquishment of the license, listing, registration, 
or certification in the manner described by Subdivision (3). 

§42.073.  Emergency Suspension and Closure of a Facility or Family 
Home. 

(a)  The department shall suspend a facility’s license or a family 
home’s listing or registration and order the immediate closing of the facility 
or family home if: 

(1)  the department finds the facility or family home is operating in 
violation of the applicable standards prescribed by this chapter;  and 

(2)  the violation creates an immediate threat to the health and safety 
of the children attending or residing in the facility or family home. 

(b)  An order suspending a license, listing, or registration and an 
order closing a facility or family home under this section is immediately 
effective on the date on which the holder of the license, listing, or 
registration receives written notice or on a later date specified in the order. 

(c)  An order is valid for 30 days after the effective date of the order. 

§42.074.  Injunctive Relief. 

(a)  The department may file suit in a district court in Travis County 
or in the county in which a facility or family home is located for 
assessment and recovery of a civil penalty under Section 42.075, for 
injunctive relief, including a temporary restraining order, or for both a civil 
penalty and injunctive relief when it appears that a person: 

(1)  has violated, is violating, or is threatening to violate the licensing, 
certification, listing, or registration requirements of this chapter or the 
department’s licensing, certification, listing, or registration rules and 
standards; or 

(2)  knowingly fails to meet or maintain an exemption authorized 
under Section 42.041 and engages in activities that require a license or 
registration. 

(b)  The district court shall grant the injunctive relief the facts may 
warrant. 

(c)  At the department’s request, the attorney general or the county 
or district attorney of the county in which the facility or family home is 
located shall conduct a suit in the name of the State of Texas for injunctive 
relief, to recover the civil penalty, or for both injunctive relief and civil 
penalties as authorized by Subsection (a). 

(d)  Injunctive relief provided by this section is in addition to any 
other action, proceeding, or remedy authorized by law.  It is not necessary 
to allege or prove in an action filed under this section that an adequate 
remedy at law does not exist or that substantial or irreparable harm would 
result from the continued violation. 

(e)  The department is not required to give an appeal bond in an 
action arising under this section. 

§42.075.  Civil Penalty. 

(a)  A person is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $50 nor 
more than $100 for each day of violation and for each act of violation if the 
person: 

(1)  threatens serious harm to a child in a facility or family home by 
violating a provision of this chapter or a department rule or standard; 

(2)  violates a provision of this chapter or a department rule or 
standard three or more times within a 12-month period; 

(3)  places a public advertisement for an unlicensed facility or an 
unlisted or unregistered family home; 

(4)  knowingly fails to meet or maintain any criterion of an exemption 
authorized under Section 42.041 and engages in activities that require a 
license or registration; or 

(5)  fails to inform the department of a change in status and the 
person knows the change in status requires the person to be licensed or 
registered under this chapter. 

(b)  The civil penalty authorized by this section is cumulative and in 
addition to the criminal penalties and injunctive relief provided by this 
chapter. 

§42.076.  Criminal Penalties. 

(a)  A person who operates a child-care facility or child-placing 
agency without a license commits a Class B misdemeanor. 

(b)  A person who operates a family home without a required listing 
or registration commits a Class B misdemeanor. 

(c)  A person who places a public advertisement for an unlicensed 
facility or an unlisted or unregistered family home commits a Class C 
misdemeanor. 

(d)  It is not an offense under this section if a professional provides 
legal or medical services to: 

(1)  a parent who identifies the prospective adoptive parent and 
places the child for adoption without the assistance of the professional;  or 

(2)  a prospective adoptive parent who identifies a parent and 
receives placement of a child for adoption without assistance of the 
professional. 

§42.0761.  Criminal Penalty for Operating Day-Care Center Without 
Qualified Director. 

(a)  An owner or operator of a day-care center commits an offense if 
the owner or operator knowingly operates the day-care center: 

(1)  without a director who meets the qualifications of a director 
prescribed by department rules; or 

(2)  without the routine presence during the day-care center’s hours 
of operation of a director described by Subdivision (1). 

(b)  An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor. 

§42.077.  Notice of Action Against Facility or Family Home. 

(a)  If the department revokes or suspends a facility’s license or a 
family home’s listing or registration, the department shall publish notice of 
this action: 

(1)  in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the 
facility or family home is located; or 

(2)  on the department’s Internet website along with other 
information regarding child-care services. 

(a-1)  If notice is published in a newspaper under Subsection (a), the 
newspaper shall place the notice in the section in which advertisements 
for day-care services are normally published. 

(b)  If a person who operates a facility or family home that has had 
its license, listing, or registration revoked or suspended later applies for a 
new license, listing, or registration to operate the same facility or family 
home, the department shall charge the person an application fee set by 
the executive commissioner by rule in an amount necessary to reimburse 
the department for the cost of the notice relating to that facility or family 
home. 



 

24              September 2017 

(c)  The department shall pay for publication of the notice from funds 
appropriated to the department for licensing and regulating child-care 
facilities and for listing, registering, and regulating family homes and from 
appeal and application fees collected under Subsection (b) and 
appropriated to the department. 

(d)  A facility or family home that has its license, listing, or 
registration revoked or suspended shall mail notification of this action by 
certified mail to the parents or guardian of the child served by the facility 
or family home.  The facility or family home shall mail the notification 
within five days of the effective date of the revocation or suspension of the 
license, listing, or registration. 

(d-1)  If the department determines that the license of a residential 
child-care facility should be revoked or suspended, the facility shall mail 
notification of the action or proposed action by certified mail to a parent of 
each child served by the facility, if the person’s parental rights have not 
been terminated, and to the child’s managing conservator, as 
appropriate.  The residential child-care facility shall mail the notification 
not later than the fifth day after the date the facility is notified of the 
department’s determination that revocation or suspension of the license is 
appropriate. 

(e)  When the most recent federal census shows that more than one-
half of the population in a municipality or in a commissioners precinct in a 
county in which a family home whose listing or registration has been 
revoked or suspended is located is of Hispanic origin or Spanish-
speaking, the department shall publish the notice under Subsection (a) in 
both English and Spanish. 

§42.078.  Administrative Penalty. 

(a)  The department may impose an administrative sanction or an 
administrative penalty against a facility or family home licensed, 
registered, or listed under this chapter that violates this chapter or a rule 
or order adopted under this chapter.  In addition, the department may 
impose an administrative penalty against a facility or family home or a 
controlling person of a facility or family home if the facility, family home, or 
controlling person: 

(1)  violates a term of a license or registration issued under this 
chapter; 

(2)  makes a statement about a material fact that the facility or 
person knows or should know is false: 

(A)  on an application for the issuance of a license or registration or 
an attachment to the application; or 

(B)  in response to a matter under investigation; 
(3)  refuses to allow a representative of the department to inspect: 
(A)  a book, record, or file required to be maintained by the facility; or 
(B)  any part of the premises of the facility; 
(4)  purposefully interferes with the work of a representative of the 

department or the enforcement of this chapter; or 
(5)  fails to pay a penalty assessed under this chapter on or before 

the date the penalty is due, as determined under this section. 
(a-1)  Except as provided by Subsection (a-2), nonmonetary, 

administrative sanctions, including corrective action plans, probation, and 
evaluation periods, shall be imposed when appropriate before 
administrative penalties. 

(a-2)  The department may impose an administrative penalty without 
first imposing a nonmonetary administrative sanction for violating a 
minimum standard applicable to a facility or family home under this 
chapter that is determined by the department to be a high-risk standard, 
including background check standards, safety hazard standards, and 
supervision standards.   

(b)  Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation 
for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The penalty for a violation may be in 
an amount not to exceed the following limits, based on the maximum 
number of children for whom the facility or family home was authorized to 
provide care or the number of children under the care of the child-placing 
agency when the violation occurred: 

(1)  for violations that occur in a facility other than a residential child-
care facility: 

 Number of children Maximum amount of penalty 
 20 or less $50 
 21-40 $60 
 41-60 $70 
 61-80 $80 
 81-100 $100 
 More than 100 $150 
(2)  for violations that occur in a residential child-care facility: 
 Number of children Maximum amount of penalty 
 20 or less $100 
 21-40 $150 
 41-60 $200 
 61-80 $250 
 81-100 $375 
 More than 100  $500 
(c)  In addition to the number of children, the amount of the penalty 

shall be based on: 
(1)  the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, 

circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the hazard 
or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of 
the public; 

(2)  the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the 
violation; 

(3)  the history of previous violations; 
(4)  the amount necessary to deter future violations; 
(5)  efforts to correct the violation; and 
(6)  any other matter that justice may require. 
(d)  Monetary penalties may not be assessed for violations that are 

the result of clerical errors. 
(e)  If the department determines that a violation has occurred, the 

department may issue a recommendation on the imposition of a penalty, 
including a recommendation on the amount of the penalty. 

(f)  Within 14 days after the date the recommendation is issued, the 
department shall give written notice of the recommendation to the person 
owning or operating the facility or family home or to the controlling person, 
if applicable.  The notice may be given by certified mail.  The notice must 
include a brief summary of the alleged violation and a statement of the 
amount of the recommended penalty and must inform the person that the 
person has a right to a hearing on the occurrence of the violation, the 
amount of the penalty, or both the occurrence of the violation and the 
amount of the penalty. 

(g)  Within 20 days after the date the person receives the notice, the 
person in writing may accept the determination and recommended penalty 
of the department or may make a written request for a hearing on the 
occurrence of the violation, the amount of the penalty, or both the 
occurrence of the violation and the amount of the penalty. 

(h)  If the person accepts the determination and recommended 
penalty of the department or fails to respond to the notice in a timely 
manner, the department shall issue an order and impose the 
recommended penalty. 

(i)  If the person requests a hearing, the department shall set a 
hearing and give notice of the hearing to the person.  The hearing shall be 
held by an administrative law judge of the State Office of Administrative 
Hearings.  The administrative law judge shall make findings of fact and 
conclusions of law and issue a final decision finding that a violation has 
occurred and imposing a penalty or finding that no violation occurred. 

(j)  The notice of the administrative law judge’s order given to the 
person under Chapter 2001, Government Code, must include a statement 
of the right of the person to judicial review of the order. 

(k)  Within 30 days after the date the administrative law judge’s order 
becomes final as provided by Section 2001.144, Government Code, the 
person shall: 

(1)  pay the amount of the penalty; 
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(2)  pay the amount of the penalty and file a petition for judicial 
review contesting the occurrence of the violation, the amount of the 
penalty, or both the occurrence of the violation and the amount of the 
penalty;  or 

(3)  without paying the amount of the penalty, file a petition for 
judicial review contesting the occurrence of the violation, the amount of 
the penalty, or both the occurrence of the violation and the amount of the 
penalty. 

(l)  Within the 30-day period, a person who acts under Subsection 
(k)(3) may: 

(1)  stay enforcement of the penalty by: 
(A)  paying the amount of the penalty to the court for placement in an 

escrow account; or 
(B)  giving to the court a supersedeas bond that is approved by the 

court for the amount of the penalty and that is effective until all judicial 
review of the order is final; or 

(2)  request the court to stay enforcement of the penalty by: 
(A)  filing with the court a sworn affidavit of the person stating that 

the person is financially unable to pay the amount of the penalty and is 
financially unable to give the supersedeas bond; and 

(B)  giving a copy of the affidavit to the department by certified mail. 
(m)  On receipt of a copy of an affidavit under Subsection (l)(2), the 

department may file with the court, within five days after the date the copy 
is received, a contest to the affidavit.  The court shall hold a hearing on 
the facts alleged in the affidavit as soon as practicable and shall stay the 
enforcement of the penalty on finding that the alleged facts are true.  The 
person who files an affidavit has the burden of proving that the person is 
financially unable to pay the amount of the penalty and to give a 
supersedeas bond. 

(n)  If the person does not pay the amount of the penalty and the 
enforcement of the penalty is not stayed, the department may refer the 
matter to the attorney general for collection of the amount of the penalty. 

(o)  Judicial review of the order: 
(1)  is instituted by filing a petition as provided by Subchapter G, 

Chapter 2001,  Government Code;  and 
(2)  is under the substantial evidence rule. 
(p)  If the court sustains the occurrence of the violation, the court 

may uphold or reduce the amount of the penalty and order the person to 
pay the full or reduced amount of the penalty.  If the court does not sustain 
the occurrence of the violation, the court shall order that no penalty is 
owed. 

(q)  When the judgment of the court becomes final, the court shall 
proceed under this subsection.  If the person paid the amount of the 
penalty and if that amount is reduced or is not upheld by the court, the 
court shall order that the appropriate amount plus accrued interest be 
remitted to the person.  The rate of the interest is the rate charged on 
loans to depository institutions by the New York Federal Reserve Bank, 
and the interest shall be paid for the period beginning on the date the 
penalty was paid and ending on the date the penalty is remitted.  If the 
person gave a supersedeas bond and if the amount of the penalty is not 
upheld by the court, the court shall order the release of the bond.  If the 
person gave a supersedeas bond and if the amount of the penalty is 
reduced, the court shall order the release of the bond after the person 
pays the amount. 

(r)  A penalty collected under this section shall be sent to the 
comptroller for deposit in the general revenue fund. 

(s)  All proceedings under this section are subject to Chapter 2001, 
Government Code. 

 
§42.079.  Cease and Desist Order. 

(a)  If it appears to the department that a person who is not licensed, 
certified, registered, or listed under this chapter is operating a child-care 
facility or family home, the department, after notice and opportunity for a 
hearing, may issue a cease and desist order prohibiting the person from 
operating the facility or home. 

(b)  A violation of an order under this section constitutes grounds for 
imposing an administrative penalty under Section 42.078. 

SUBCHAPTER F.  REGULATION OF EMPLOYER-BASED DAY-CARE 
FACILITIES 

§42.151.  Definitions. 

In this subchapter: 
(1)  “Employer-based day-care facility” means a day-care facility that 

is: 
(A)  operated by a small employer to provide care to not more than 

12 children of the employer’s employees; and 
(B)  located on the employer’s premises. 
(2)  “Small employer” means a corporation, partnership, sole 

proprietorship, or other legal entity that employs fewer than 100 full-time 
employees. 

§42.152.  Permit Required. 

(a)  Except as provided by Subsection (b), a small employer may not 
operate an employer-based day-care facility unless the employer holds a 
permit issued by the department under this subchapter. 

(b)  A small employer is not required to obtain a permit to operate an 
employer-based day-care facility under this subchapter if the employer 
holds a license to operate a child-care facility that is issued by the 
department under Subchapter C.  An employer that holds that license 
must comply with the applicable provisions of Subchapter C, the 
applicable department rules, and any specific terms of the license. 

(c)  Notwithstanding any other law, including Section 42.041, a small 
employer that holds a permit issued under this subchapter is not required 
to hold a license under Subchapter C to operate an employer-based day-
care facility. 

§42.153.  Application; Initial Inspection and Background and Criminal 
History Checks. 

(a)  The department shall develop and implement a streamlined 
procedure by which a small employer may apply for and be issued a 
permit to operate an employer-based day-care facility.  The employer 
must submit an application for the permit to the department on a form 
prescribed by the department. 

(b)  Except as provided by Section 42.154, on receipt of a small 
employer’s application for a permit, the department shall: 

(1)  conduct an initial inspection of the employer-based day-care 
facility to ensure that the employer is able to comply with the provisions of 
this subchapter and that the facility complies with the fire safety and 
sanitation standards of the political subdivision in which the facility is 
located; and 

(2)  conduct a background and criminal history check on each 
prospective caregiver whose name is submitted as required by Section 
42.159(a). 

(c)  The department may charge an applicant an administrative fee 
set by the executive commissioner by rule in a reasonable amount that is 
sufficient to cover the costs of the department in processing the 
application. 

(d)  The department shall process an application not later than the 
30th day after the date the department receives all of the required 
information. 

§42.154.  Conversion of License. 

(a)  The department shall develop and implement a procedure by 
which a small employer that holds a license to operate a child-care facility 
that is issued under Subchapter C before September 1, 2007, may 
convert the license to a permit under this subchapter.  The procedure 
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must include an abbreviated application form for use by the employer in 
applying for the permit. 

(b)  The department may waive the requirements under Section 
42.153(b) for an initial inspection or background and criminal history 
checks with respect to a facility operated by a small employer seeking to 
convert a license to a permit under this section if the department 
determines that previously conducted inspections or background and 
criminal history checks, as applicable, are sufficient to ensure the safety of 
children receiving care at the facility. 

§42.155.  Parent or Guardian Within Immediate Vicinity. 

An employer-based day-care facility operating under this subchapter may 
provide care only for a child whose parent or guardian: 

(1)  is an employee of the small employer to which the permit to 
operate the facility was issued; 

(2)  works within the same building in which the facility is located; 
and 

(3)  is away from that building only for limited periods, as defined by 
department rules, during the hours the child is receiving care. 

§42.156.  Caregiver-To-Child Ratio. 

An employer-based day-care facility operating under this subchapter shall 
maintain a caregiver-to-child ratio of at least one caregiver to every four 
children receiving care. 

§42.157.  Minimum Standards. 

The department shall encourage an employer-based day-care facility 
operating under this subchapter to comply with the minimum standards 
applicable to a child-care facility licensed under Subchapter C. 

§42.158.  Caregiver Qualifications. 

A caregiver employed by an employer-based day-care facility operating 
under this subchapter must: 

(1)  be at least 18 years of age; 
(2)  have received a high school diploma or its equivalent, as 

determined by the department; 
(3)  receive at least the minimum training required for an employee 

of a licensed day-care center as prescribed by department rules in 
accordance with Sections 42.042(p) and 42.0421; 

(4)  have a Child Development Associate or Certified Child-Care 
Professional credential or an equivalent credential, as determined by the 
department; and 

(5)  not have been precluded from providing direct care or having 
direct access to a child by the department based on the results of a 
background and criminal history check conducted under Section 42.159. 

§42.159.  Background and Criminal History Checks Required. 

(a)  In accordance with rules adopted by the executive 
commissioner, a small employer shall, when applying for a permit under 
this subchapter and at least once during each 24 months after receiving 
that permit, submit to the department for use in conducting background 
and criminal history checks: 

(1)  the name of any director of the employer-based day-care facility 
and the name of each caregiver employed at the facility to provide care to 
children; and 

(2)  the name of each person 14 years of age or older who will 
regularly or frequently be staying or working at the facility while children 
are being provided care. 

(b)  The small employer shall also submit to the department for use 
in conducting background and criminal history checks the name of each 
prospective caregiver who will provide care to children at the facility or 
other prospective employee who will have direct access to those children. 

(c)  The department shall conduct background and criminal history 
checks using: 

(1)  the information provided under Subsection (a) or (b), as 
applicable; 

(2)  the information made available by the Department of Public 
Safety under Section 411.114, Government Code, or by the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation or other criminal justice agency under Section 
411.087, Government Code; and 

(3)  the department’s records of reported abuse and neglect. 
(d)  For purposes of Sections 411.114 and 411.087, Government 

Code: 
(1)  a small employer that applies for a permit is considered an 

applicant for a license under this chapter; and 
(2)  an employer-based day-care facility operating under a permit 

issued under this subchapter is considered a child-care facility licensed 
under this chapter. 

(e)  The department shall require the small employer to pay to the 
department a fee set by the executive commissioner by rule in an amount 
not to exceed the administrative costs the department incurs in conducting 
a background and criminal history check under this section. 

§42.160.  Applicability of Other Law. 

Except as otherwise provided by this subchapter, an employer-based day-
care facility operating under this subchapter is not a child-care facility, as 
defined by Section 42.002, and the provisions of this chapter and the 
department’s rules that apply to a child-care facility licensed under 
Subchapter C do not apply to an employer-based day-care facility. 

§42.161.  Reporting of Incidents and Violations. 

An employer-based day-care facility operating under this subchapter and 
each employee of that facility are subject to the reporting requirements of 
Section 42.063 to the same extent a licensed child-care facility and 
employees of licensed child-care facilities are subject to that section. 

§42.162.  Authority to Conduct Limited Inspections. 

(a)  The department may inspect an employer-based day-care 
facility operating under this subchapter if the department receives a 
complaint or report of child abuse or neglect alleged to have occurred at 
the facility. 

(b)  If the department inspects an employer-based day-care facility 
as authorized by this section, the department may require the small 
employer operating the facility to take appropriate corrective action the 
department determines necessary to comply with the requirements of this 
subchapter and to ensure the health and safety of children receiving care 
at the facility.  The department may continue to inspect the facility until 
corrective action is taken and for a reasonable time after that action is 
taken to ensure continued compliance. 

(c)  The department may charge a small employer issued a permit 
under this subchapter a reasonable fee set by the executive commissioner 
by rule for the cost of services provided by the department in formulating, 
monitoring, and implementing a corrective action plan under this section. 

§42.163.  Suspension, Denial, or Revocation. 

(a)  The department may suspend, deny, or revoke a permit issued 
to a small employer under this subchapter if the employer does not 
comply with the provisions of this subchapter or any applicable 
department rules. 

(b)  The department may refuse to issue a permit under this 
subchapter to a small employer that had its authorization to operate a 
child-care facility issued under another subchapter revoked, suspended, 
or not renewed for a reason relating to child health or safety as 
determined by the department. 

(c)  An employer-based day-care facility is subject to the emergency 
suspension of its permit to operate and to closure under Section 42.073 to 
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the same extent and in the same manner as a licensed child-care facility 
is subject to that section. 

SUBCHAPTER G. REGULATION OF TEMPORARY SHELTER DAY-
CARE FACILITIES 

§42.201.  Definitions. 

In this subchapter: 
(1)  “Shelter” means a supervised publicly or privately operated 

shelter or other facility that is designed to provide temporary living 
accommodations to individuals and families, including a family violence 
shelter, a homeless shelter, and an emergency shelter. The term does not 
include a temporary facility established in response to a natural or other 
disaster. 

(2)  “Shelter care” means child care that is provided: 
(A)  to seven or more children under 14 years of age who 

temporarily reside at a shelter each with an adult who is related to the 
child by blood or who is the child’s managing conservator; 

(B)  by a person who is not a temporary resident of a shelter; and 
(C)  while the adult described by Paragraph (A) is away from the 

shelter. 
(3)  “Shelter day-care facility” means a shelter that provides shelter 

care for not more than 24 hours a day, but at least four hours a day, three 
or more days a week. 

§42.202.  Permit Required.  

(a)  Except as provided by Subsections (b) and (e), a shelter may 
not provide shelter care unless the shelter holds a permit issued by the 
department under this subchapter. 

(b)  A shelter is not required to obtain a permit to provide shelter 
care under this subchapter if the shelter holds a license to operate a child-
care facility that is issued by the department under Subchapter C.  A 
shelter that holds that license must comply with the applicable provisions 
of Subchapter C, the applicable department rules, and any specific terms 
of the license. 

(c)  Notwithstanding any other law, including Section 42.041, a 
shelter that holds a permit issued under this subchapter is not required to 
hold a license under Subchapter C to operate a shelter day-care facility. 

(d)  The department may not issue a permit under this subchapter to 
a shelter that provides child care to a child who is not a resident of the 
shelter. A shelter that provides child care described by this subsection 
must hold a license to operate a child-care facility issued under 
Subchapter C. 

(e)  A shelter is not required to obtain a permit under this subchapter 
or a license under Subchapter C if the shelter provides shelter care for: 

(1)  less than four hours a day or for less than three days a week; or 
(2)  six or fewer children. 

§42.203.  Application; Initial Inspection and Background and Criminal 
History Checks.   

(a)  The department shall develop and implement a streamlined 
procedure by which a shelter may apply for and be issued a permit to 
operate a shelter day-care facility. The shelter must submit an application 
for the permit to the department on a form prescribed by the department. 

(b)  Except as provided by Section 42.204, on receipt of a shelter’s 
application for a permit, the department shall: 

(1)  conduct an initial inspection of the shelter day-care facility to 
ensure that the shelter is able to comply with the provisions of this 
subchapter and that the facility complies with the fire safety and sanitation 
standards of the political subdivision in which the facility is located; and 

(2)  conduct a background and criminal history check on each 
prospective caregiver whose name is submitted as required by Section 
42.206(a). 

(c)  The department may charge an applicant an administrative fee 
set by the executive commissioner by rule in a reasonable amount that is 
sufficient to cover the costs of the department in processing the 
application. 

(d)  The department shall process an application not later than the 
30th day after the date the department receives all of the required 
information. 

§42.204.  Conversion of License.  

(a)  The department shall develop and implement a procedure by 
which a shelter that holds a license to operate a child-care facility that is 
issued under Subchapter C before September 1, 2012, may convert the 
license to a permit under this subchapter. The procedure must include an 
abbreviated application form for use by the shelter in applying for the 
permit. 

(b)  The department may waive the requirements under Section 
42.203(b) for an initial inspection or background and criminal history 
checks with respect to a licensed child-care facility seeking to convert a 
license to a permit under this section if the department determines that 
previously conducted inspections or background and criminal history 
checks, as applicable, are sufficient to ensure the safety of children 
receiving care at the facility. 

§42.205.  Caregiver Qualifications and Training; Child-To-Caregiver 
Ratios.  

(a)  The executive commissioner shall adopt rules that specify the 
minimum: 

(1)  qualifications and training required for a person providing child 
care in a shelter day-care facility; and 

(2)  child-to-caregiver ratios in a shelter day-care facility. 
(b)  In adopting rules under this section, the executive commissioner 

shall consider: 
(1)  the special circumstances and needs of families that seek 

temporary shelter; and 
(2)  the role of a shelter in assisting and supporting families in crisis. 

§42.206.  Background and Criminal History Checks Required.  

(a)  In accordance with rules adopted by the executive 
commissioner, a shelter shall, when applying for a permit under this 
subchapter and at least once during each 24-month period after receiving 
that permit, submit to the department for use in conducting background 
and criminal history checks: 

(1)  the name of any director or prospective director of the shelter 
day-care facility and the name of each caregiver or prospective caregiver 
employed at the facility to provide care to children; 

(2)  the name of each person counted in child-to-caregiver ratios at 
the shelter day-care facility; and 

(3)  the name of each person 14 years of age or older who will have 
unsupervised access to one or more children while in the care of the 
shelter day-care facility. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Subsection (a), a shelter shall 
submit a complete set of fingerprints of each person required to undergo a 
criminal history check under Subsection (a) if: 

(1)  the person has lived outside the state at any time during the 
previous five years; or 

(2)  the shelter has reason to suspect that the person has a criminal 
history in another state. 

(c)  The department shall conduct background and criminal history 
checks using: 

(1)  the information provided under Subsection (a) or (b), as 
applicable; 

(2)  the information made available by the Department of Public 
Safety under Section 411.114, Government Code, or by the Federal 
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Bureau of Investigation or another criminal justice agency under Section 
411.087, Government Code; and 

(3)  the department’s records of reported abuse and neglect. 
(d)  For purposes of Sections 411.114 and 411.087, Government 

Code: 
(1)  a shelter that applies for a permit is considered to be an 

applicant for a license under this chapter; and 
(2)  a shelter day-care facility operating under a permit issued under 

this subchapter is considered to be a child-care facility licensed under this 
chapter. 

(e)  The department shall require the shelter to pay to the 
department a fee set by the executive commissioner by rule in an amount 
not to exceed the administrative costs the department incurs in conducting 
a background and criminal history check under this section.  

§42.207.  Applicability of Other Law.   

Except as otherwise provided by this subchapter, a shelter day-care 
facility operating under this subchapter is not a child-care facility, as 
defined by Section 42.002, and the provisions of this chapter and the 
department’s rules that apply to a child-care facility licensed under 
Subchapter C do not apply to a shelter day-care facility. 

§42.208.  Reporting of Incidents and Violations.  

A shelter day-care facility operating under this subchapter and each 
employee of that facility are subject to the reporting requirements of 
Section 42.063 to the same extent a licensed child-care facility and 
employees of licensed child-care facilities are subject to that section. 

§42.209.  Authority to Conduct Limited Inspections. 

(a)  The department may inspect a shelter day-care facility operating 
under this subchapter if the department receives a complaint or report of 
child abuse or neglect alleged to have occurred at the shelter day-care 
facility. 

(b)  If the department inspects a shelter day-care facility as 
authorized by this section, the department may require the facility to take 
appropriate corrective action the department determines necessary to 
comply with the requirements of this subchapter and to ensure the health 
and safety of children receiving care at the facility.  The department may 
continue to inspect the facility until corrective action is taken and for a 
reasonable time after that action is taken to ensure continued compliance. 

(c)  The department may charge a shelter issued a permit under this 
subchapter a reasonable fee set by the executive commissioner by rule 
for the cost of services provided by the department in formulating, 
monitoring, and implementing a corrective action plan under this section. 

§42.210.  Suspension, Denial, or Revocation.   

(a)  The department may suspend, deny, or revoke a permit issued 
to a shelter under this subchapter if the shelter does not comply with the 
provisions of this subchapter or any applicable department rules. 

(b)  The department may refuse to issue a permit under this 
subchapter to a shelter that had its authorization to operate a child-care 
facility issued under another subchapter revoked, suspended, or not 
renewed for a reason relating to child health or safety as determined by 
the department. 

(c)  A shelter day-care facility is subject to the emergency 
suspension of its permit to operate and to closure under Section 42.073 to 
the same extent and in the same manner as a licensed child-care facility 
is subject to that section. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Excerpt from the Texas Family Code 
 
DEFINITIONS OF “ABUSE” AND “NEGLECT” 
 
Subtitle E. Protection of the Child 
Chapter 261. Investigation of Report of Child Abuse or Neglect 
Subchapter A. General Provisions. 
 
§261.001. DEFINITIONS. In this chapter: 

(1)  "Abuse" includes the following acts or omissions by a person: 
(A)  mental or emotional injury to a child that results in an observable 

and material impairment in the child's growth, development, or 
psychological functioning; 

(B)  causing or permitting the child to be in a situation in which the 
child sustains a mental or emotional injury that results in an observable 
and material impairment in the child's growth, development, or 
psychological functioning; 

(C)  physical injury that results in substantial harm to the child, or the 
genuine threat of substantial harm from physical injury to the child, 
including an injury that is at variance with the history or explanation given 
and excluding an accident or reasonable discipline by a parent, guardian, 
or managing or possessory conservator that does not expose the child to 
a substantial risk of harm; 

(D)  failure to make a reasonable effort to prevent an action by 
another person that results in physical injury that results in substantial 
harm to the child; 

(E)  sexual conduct harmful to a child's mental, emotional, or 
physical welfare, including conduct that constitutes the offense of 
continuous sexual abuse of young child or children under Section 21.02, 
Penal Code, indecency with a child under Section 21.11, Penal Code, 
sexual assault under Section 22.011, Penal Code, or aggravated sexual 
assault under Section 22.021, Penal Code; 

(F)  failure to make a reasonable effort to prevent sexual conduct 
harmful to a child; 

(G)  compelling or encouraging the child to engage in sexual conduct 
as defined by Section 43.01, Penal Code, including compelling or 
encouraging the child in a manner that constitutes an offense of trafficking 
of persons under Section 20A.02(a)(7) or (8), Penal Code, prostitution 
under Section 43.02(b), Penal Code, or compelling prostitution under 
Section 43.05(a)(2), Penal Code; 

(H)  causing, permitting, encouraging, engaging in, or allowing the 
photographing, filming, or depicting of the child if the person knew or 
should have known that the resulting photograph, film, or depiction of the 
child is obscene as defined by Section 43.21, Penal Code, or 
pornographic; 

(I)  the current use by a person of a controlled substance as defined 
by Chapter 481, Health and Safety Code, in a manner or to the extent that 
the use results in physical, mental, or emotional injury to a child; 

(J)  causing, expressly permitting, or encouraging a child to use a 
controlled substance as defined by Chapter 481, Health and Safety Code; 

(K)  causing, permitting, encouraging, engaging in, or allowing a 
sexual performance by a child as defined by Section 43.25, Penal Code; 

(L)  knowingly causing, permitting, encouraging, engaging in, or 
allowing a child to be trafficked in a manner punishable as an offense 
under Section 20A.02(a)(5), (6), (7), or (8), Penal Code, or the failure to 
make a reasonable effort to prevent a child from being trafficked in a 
manner punishable as an offense under any of those sections; or 

(M)  forcing or coercing a child to enter into a marriage. 
(2)  "Department" means the Department of Family and Protective 

Services. 
(3)  "Exploitation" means the illegal or improper use of a child or of 

the resources of a child for monetary or personal benefit, profit, or gain by 
an employee, volunteer, or other individual working under the auspices of 
a facility or program as further described by rule or policy. 

(4)  "Neglect": 
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(A)  includes: 
(i)  the leaving of a child in a situation where the child would be 

exposed to a substantial risk of physical or mental harm, without arranging 
for necessary care for the child, and the demonstration of an intent not to 
return by a parent, guardian, or managing or possessory conservator of 
the child; 

(ii)  the following acts or omissions by a person: 
(a)  placing a child in or failing to remove a child from a situation that 

a reasonable person would realize requires judgment or actions beyond 
the child's level of maturity, physical condition, or mental abilities and that 
results in bodily injury or a substantial risk of immediate harm to the child; 

(b)  failing to seek, obtain, or follow through with medical care for a 
child, with the failure resulting in or presenting a substantial risk of death, 
disfigurement, or bodily injury or with the failure resulting in an observable 
and material impairment to the growth, development, or functioning of the 
child; 

(c)  the failure to provide a child with food, clothing, or shelter 
necessary to sustain the life or health of the child, excluding failure caused 
primarily by financial inability unless relief services had been offered and 
refused; 

(d)  placing a child in or failing to remove the child from a situation in 
which the child would be exposed to a substantial risk of sexual conduct 
harmful to the child; or 

(e)  placing a child in or failing to remove the child from a situation in 
which the child would be exposed to acts or omissions that constitute 
abuse under Subdivision (1)(E), (F), (G), (H), or (K) committed against 
another child;  

(iii)  the failure by the person responsible for a child's care, custody, 
or welfare to permit the child to return to the child's home without 
arranging for the necessary care for the child after the child has been 
absent from the home for any reason, including having been in residential 
placement or having run away; or 

(iv)  a negligent act or omission by an employee, volunteer, or other 
individual working under the auspices of a facility or program, including 
failure to comply with an individual treatment plan, plan of care, or 
individualized service plan, that causes or may cause substantial 
emotional harm or physical injury to, or the death of, a child served by the 
facility or program as further described by rule or policy; and 

(B)  does not include the refusal by a person responsible for a child's 
care, custody, or welfare to permit the child to remain in or return to the 
child's home resulting in the placement of the child in the conservatorship 
of the department if: 

(i)  the child has a severe emotional disturbance; 
(ii)  the person's refusal is based solely on the person's inability to 

obtain mental health services necessary to protect the safety and well-
being of the child; and 

(iii)  the person has exhausted all reasonable means available to the 
person to obtain the mental health services described by Subparagraph 
(ii). 

(5)  "Person responsible for a child's care, custody, or welfare" 
means a person who traditionally is responsible for a child's care, custody, 
or welfare, including: 

(A)  a parent, guardian, managing or possessory conservator, or 
foster parent of the child; 

(B)  a member of the child's family or household as defined by 
Chapter 71; 

(C)  a person with whom the child's parent cohabits; 
(D)  school personnel or a volunteer at the child's school;  
(E)  personnel or a volunteer at a public or private child-care facility 

that provides services for the child or at a public or private residential 
institution or facility where the child resides; or 

(F)  an employee, volunteer, or other person working under the 
supervision of a licensed or unlicensed child-care facility, including a 
family home, residential child-care facility, employer-based day-care 

facility, or shelter day-care facility, as those terms are defined in Chapter 
42, Human Resources Code. 
 

 


