<<Previous Page

Next Page>>

6000 County Training Contracts

Title IV-E Finance Handbook for County Contracts August 2009

Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008 expands the Federal Financial Participation for Title IV-E training to:

  •  CASA volunteers;

  •  contracted child placement providers;

  •  members of the staff of abuse and neglect courts;

  •  agency attorneys;

  •  attorneys representing children or parents

  •  guardians ad litem, and

  •  other court-appointed special advocates representing children in court proceedings.

Effective federal fiscal year 2009, training for these groups is reimbursable at 55 percent, increasing at 5 percent a year up to 75 percent in federal fiscal year 2013.

See:

45 CFR §1356.60(b),(c)

      Appendix B: Title IV-E Training Topics for Which the State May Claim a Title IV-E Match.

Counties that do not contract for child welfare services or legal services may enter into an agreement with DFPS for reimbursement of expenses for this training. As with all Title IV-E reimbursements, the match portion of the expenses must be from public funds.

Title IV-E training expenses include:

  •  cost of training; and

  •  travel expenses.

Travel costs are limited to the maximum Travel Reimbursement rates noted by the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts and are limited to actual travel costs.

Allowable Travel Costs

Costs incurred by county personnel while performing Title IV‑E administrative duties or attending staff development trainings may include:

  •  Meals

  •  Lodging

  •  Auto rental

  •  Gasoline

  •  Airfare

  •  Mileage

  •  Registration fees

  •  Parking

  •  Other incidental expenses (taxi fees, tolls)

Unallowable Costs Related to Travel

  •  Gratuity

  •  Alcoholic beverages

  •  Personal phone calls

  •  Any other items not allowed by federal regulations or not directly connected to the Title IV‑E program

Billing

For billing and tracking purposes, administrative expenditures must be reported under a number of different administrative activities as indicated on the billing worksheet provided by DFPS.

For reimbursement, counties must submit their bills to DFPS using Form 4116 State of Texas Purchase Voucher. DFPS provides counties with a partially completed Form 4116, with object codes and other essential information included, for their convenience.

<<Previous Page

Next Page>>