Federal law allows the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) to release confidential records to Disability Rights Texas when it is representing an individual or investigating crimes related to:

  • A complaint about the treatment of a DFPS client.  
  • A complaint about a DFPS client's Abuse or neglect case (including APS, CCL, and CPS).

Requesting a Record

Employees of Disability Rights Texas seeking a confidential case record for the purpose listed above may request a copy by completing and submitting Form 4885D (see download instructions below). You may submit it electronically or by mail.

How to Download the Form and Submit it Electronically:

  1. Select your region on the map or list. A form in PDF format will open in your browser.
  2. Fill out PDF form and click the "Submit by Email" button.
  3. Follow the emailing instructions and use your email program to encrypt any confidential data.

How to Download the Form and Submit it by Mail:

  1. Select your region on the map or list. A form in PDF format will open in your browser.
  2. Fill out the PDF form and click the "Print Form" button.
  3. Mail the completed form to:
    Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
    Attn: Insert name and address from table below
If Records From Send Form To Phone E-mail

Regions:
1 - Lubbock
2 - Abilene
9 - Midland

Amanda Houston (APS Attorney)
Kathleen Phillips (Managing Attorney)
1622 10th St., MC: 217-4
Lubbock, TX 79401

(806) 742-9181

Amanda.Houston@dfps.state.tx.us
Kathleen.Phillips@dfps.state.tx.us

Region 3 - Arlington

Vacant (APS Attorney)
Kathleen Phillips (Managing Attorney)
1200 E. Copeland, MC: 013-8
Arlington, TX 76011

(361) 878-7481

Kathleen.Phillips@dfps.state.tx.us

Regions:
4 - Tyler
5 - Beaumont

Mike Kennedy (APS Attorney)
Kathleen Phillips (Managing Attorney)
350 Pine St. Flr 9, MC: 028-1
Beaumont, TX 77701

(409) 951-4144

Phillip.Kennedy@dfps.state.tx.us
Kathleen.Phillips@dfps.state.tx.us

Region 6 - Houston

Penny Leuchtag (APS Attorney)
Kathleen Phillips (Managing Attorney)
5425 Polk Street, MC: 179-3
Houston, Texas 77023

(713) 767-2651

Penny.Leuchtag@dfps.state.tx.us
Kathleen.Phillips@dfps.state.tx.us

Region 7 - Austin

Susan Marquess (APS Attorney)
Kathleen Phillips (Managing Attorney)
14000 Summit Drive #100, MC: 016-5
Austin, Texas 78728

(512) 834-3447

Susan.Marquess@dfps.state.tx.usKathleen.Phillips@dfps.state.tx.us

Regions:
8 - San Antonio
11 - Edinburg

Lisa Brown (APS Attorney)
Kathleen Phillips (Managing Attorney)
3635 SE Military Drive, MC: 278-5
San Antonio, Texas 78223

(210) 337-3329

Lisa.Brown@dfps.state.tx.us
Kathleen.Phillips@dfps.state.tx.us

Region 10 - El Paso

Corine Dominguez (APS Attorney)     
Eric Tai (Managing Attorney)              
401 E. Franklin, Suite 350, MC: 112-7  
El Paso, Texas  79901

(915) 834-5760

Corine.Dominguez@dfps.state.tx.us
Eric.Tai@dfps.state.tx.us

Have questions?

Email: Records.Management@dfps.state.tx.us
Phone during business hours: (512) 929-6764 or toll free at (877) 764‐7230

To see other records request categories, click here.