Statewide Intake (SWI) division responsibilities includes receiving reports for:
- Child abuse and neglect.
- Abuse, neglect, self-neglect, and exploitation of the elderly or adults with disabilities living at home.
- Abuse of children in child-care facilities or treatment centers
- Abuse of adults and children who live in state facilities or are being helped by programs for people with mental illness or intellectual disabilities. These are run by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) or Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS).
What is Statewide Intake?
The Statewide Intake (SWI) division is the “front door to the front line” for all DFPS programs. It's Statewide Intake’s job is to assess all reports of abuse, neglect, or exploitation and route them to the right local office.
That’s why Statewide Intake is the program that never sleeps – operating “around-the-clock” every single day of the year, including nights and holidays.
Contacting Statewide Intake
To report abuse, neglect, or exploitation of children, the elderly, or people with disabilities call 1-800-252-5400 or report online at https://www.txabusehotline.org. For emergencies call your local law enforcement agency or 911 immediately if you have an emergency or life-threatening situation.
The Abuse Hotline is available toll-free 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, nationwide. Or make a report with our secure website and get a response within 24 hours.
Learn more about reporting Abuse, Neglect, or Exploitation in Texas.